Come and Help with our family project in Naval city of Portsmouth in Hampshire, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We provide airbnb, holiday accommodation and student accommodation in the Historic Naval city of Portsmouth in Hampshire in the South of England. Our busy time of year is June and July. As Portsmouth has an international ferry port it is easy to take day trips to France, the Isle of Wight and the Channel Islands. We are 1.5 hours away from central London by train. We are a family business and have two teenage children. We do not require any child care. We can accommodate two workaways and we do not mind hosting a couple or friends. We require help with gardening, cleaning, basic maintenance like painting and decorating. If you can tile, do plumbing or carpentry thats a bonus but not essential. We will provide clear instructions and guidance for all tasks. We like to meet new people and love travelling ourselves and are happy to be of any help to your travels. Portsmouth has great links to the France, The Channel Islands and the Isle of Wight by Hovercraft!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very experienced with the accommodation business so are happy to help you if you want to learn to run a similar business. We love travelling and are happy to advise and help in any way we can to help you make the most of your local travels and experiences. Our family love camping trips to go hiking regularly.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the work required is cleaning, gardening, painting and general maintenance. It is not complicated but it is hard work so you need to be physically fit. The gardening will require pruning large hedges, relaying weed mats, weeding, packing up garden waste to take to the rubbish tip and pressure washing pathways. The cleaning required is deep cleaning but we have organised a good system to achieve this efficiently and we will work alongside you. We require five hours work a day five days a week and in return will provide you with independent accommodation so you will have your own bedrooms, use of kitchen and sharing a bathroom with high speed wifi. I would really appreciate help with organising photos on my apple computer and helping me organise albums.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom with use of the kitchen and bathroom. There is a washing machine, TV and internet. We use one of our vacant properties while we do work in Portsmouth. We stay in the property while working in the area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can catch the train to London from Portsmouth it takes approx 1.5 hours or the National Express coaches are very economical from Portsmouth Harbour Station. The city has great ferry links to France, The Channel Islands and locally to the Isle of Wight. Portsmouth is a historical Naval port with a long history and great cafes, shops and local things to do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 633579565515