Visit Beautiful New Orleans, USA!

Country

United States

Favourited 141 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1232

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 47 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *Current projects - backyard gardening and landscaping and building raised planting beds, painting our car like a watercolor tattoo, hooking up an old school boombox to turn on when the bathroom lights are turned on, etc. None of these are required, we can talk about what works best with your interests and skills.

    My girlfriend and I live in a great old house in New Orleans, with a big backyard and an extra bedroom for your stay . We love this city and look forward to showing you around and introducing you to the culture of the American South.

    The French Quarter, the center of New Orleans history and one of the most beautiful downtowns in the world, is a short 20-25 minute walk. There are also many other cultural and entertainment options in walking distance, which we would be happy to point you in the direction of, or even accompany you when we have the chance!

    We primarily look for couples or groups of 2-3 friends who would like to say anywhere between 5 and 10 days. We don't host single travelers, but there are many other places in New Orleans that do!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both native English speakers who have traveled and lived all over the world, so if you would like to practice your English we would be happy to. My girlfriend, KTeenie, is from Canada originally and speaks French, and I am working on my Spanish, so if you speak either of those languages that would be awesome.

    Even if you aren't from abroad, the American South is quite different from the rest of the States. There are wonderful parts of that difference, like a strong culture, music in the streets and friendliness to strangers.

    There are also darker elements like the fact that Louisianna has the highest per capita incarceration rate in the USA. We will be happy to talk with you about all these things and make sure that you see the beauty of life here, but also leave with an understanding of the problems we are confronting and working to overcome.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a couple (or even three friends if you are OK with staying in the same room, with one bed and one blow up mattress) to assist us with turning our house and yard into a paradise! We don't have a huge budget, so the ability to find creative solutions is very valuable. This will involve a mixture of diy, as well as manual labor.

    The expectation is that in exchange for food and a place to stay, you will assist us for 25 hours per week/person, which could mostly be done on your own schedule.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have one bedroom in a two bedroom house. Our house is built in the traditional "shotgun" style, which means that there are no hallways, just one room after another. Because of this we will have to work out a system of traveling through each other's rooms without causing disturbance, but this hasn't been a problem in the past.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you are encouraged to explore New Orleans and the surrounding areas. Public transportation is $3/24 hours, and while it isn't always the most reliable or fast, it will get you to most areas in the city within an hour. New Orleans has an abundance of events and things for visitors to explore, and you will be living very close to the center of it all at our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 632686613798