Help out with horses, dogs, cats and chicken in a beautiful old farmhouse in northeastern Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a big 200 year old farmhouse in the northeast of Switzerland with horses, dogs, a cat and chicken. Taking care of the animals, the garden and the house are part of the daily chores. Additionally you should be willing to keep company to my husband and prepare breakfast and/or lunch while I'm at work. He has health issues and is in a wheelchair.

    We try to live as environment friendly as possible, we almost don't eat meat and recycle our garbage. We love the nature around us and plant vegetables, berries and fruit in our garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area where i live is beautiful and is on the countryside. But we are near the lake of Constance where especially in summer you can enjoy a lot of water sports or swimming. Switzerland is small and you can visit all parts of the country in a reasonable amount of time. The border to Germany is very near and the medieval town of Constance is worth a visit. I can provide some help with learning german or french. One of the horses can be taken out for rides. The city of Zurich with its interesting architecture, churches, theaters, opera, cinema etc. is very interesting to visit and shows a lot of the swiss culture. The mountains are not far either and the canton of Appenzell has a lot of rural traditions like the cows and goats walking up the mountains for their summer stay. As well as the production of swiss cheese or chocolate which can be seen at manufactures.

  • Help

    Help

    You will walk the dogs, feed the three horses and clean the stable (possibility to ride one of the horses, if you are skilled enough to ride alone). There is some fencing to do, when the horses change pasture and cut out weeds on the horse pasture. The chicken have to be fed and their coop cleaned and I could need help in the garden with the veggies in the summer. There is always maintenance work to do on the house if you are skilled at handycrafts. I hope you like to cook, I love to try cuisine from other countries and appreciate to just sit at the table, the days I work.
    The breakfast for my husband needs to be done on the days I am at work (3 times a week). It would be very helpful if you had a driving licence, so you could bring him to the facility where he stays 3 days a week. No nursing care needed!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are enough big rooms in the house, you would have your own. The bathroom will be shared, but in total there are two bathrooms and three toilets.
    I do the shopping and we will cook and eat together, if you like, mostly in the evenings and weekends. Food and accommodation are provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Switzerland has very good public transport and there is a bus several times a day to bring you to the railway station.
    It is as well a great place to do your online studies or to write a thesis.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 632661411261