Welcome to join our family at our home in Ulan-Ude and the Lake Baikal, Russia

Country

Russia

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Buryat family of four. My parents, I and my son living in a country house in Ulan-Ude, a tiny town nearest to the lake Baikal (100 km). This summer we are planning to build up a new room in our small lovely house and would be glad if someone assist us for a 3-4 hours in a day. Alternatively some basic gardening works or language classes for my son would be enough. You will always have a free time to visit wonderfull places including the Lake, share meals with us and we would be happy to support you as much as we can. My dad is a biologist, PhD, avid hunter and fisher and he would be glad to share his time with someone, who is passionate as him. We normally cook traditional Buryat food (mostly meat) and if you are a vegetarian you can cook yourself:) My son and I love sport, any games and travels. I like swimming and horse riding. There are also two lovely hunting dogs "Siberian laika". You will be living in a separate summer type guest house, which is next to our house. We got a Russian country style toilet and washing sink, so that would be a sort of unique experience for you:) We are fine if you are a smoker, but have to smoke outside the house (not an issue in summer time)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to cook traditional Buryat food, hunting, fishing, Russian and Buryat language, basic building and gardening, swimming, horse riding

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening (watering and cleaning veges spots), building a small room in our country house (building Russian style oven, general assistance), language practice (English, German, Arabic, Chinese)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Arabic: Beginner
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest house, Internet is coming in 1-2 months, cooking in our house small terrace or we can fix small gas oven and microwave in the guest house. Sleeping on the floor, we will provide all needed for to sleep a matrace, bed sheet, pillow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can visit any place in Buryatia (can assist with trips to Mongolia) using a public transport, we can also assist finding a car with the driver for you hopefully with good rates.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 631453148163