Help in my organic garden in Alsace, France

Country

France

Favourited 201 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a former English teacher, militant ecologist living alone in a large historical house in a small medieval town. There are 6 apartments in the house, one of them being a holiday rental. So I need help in maintaining this house and also my organic garden. ALSACE is the German speaking part of France, at the border with Germany and Switzerland. It is also very nice because it has the beautiful Vosgtes Mountains separating us from Lorraine and sparing us some rain.
    I would prefer a help that is interested in organic farming ; also music, because there is a grand piano in my apartment and there are a lot of concerts in the area. Some one tidy and not too lazy...enthusiastic and willing to learn new things.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I prefer to have help from someone from another country or another French region than a cleaning lady, because for me it is a way to enrich myself by getting to know another region or country without leaving my garden to which I have strong bonds . I can also help foreigners improve their French since I was a French teacher in the United States. It is also a way to break solitude although I have quite a few friends and I often organize parties in my vaulted cellar in winter and my flowery courtyard in the summer.

    Je préfère avoir une aide de quelqu'un d'un autre pays ou une autre région française qu'une femme de ménage, car pour moi, c'est un moyen de m'enrichir en apprenant à connaître une autre région ou pays sans quitter mon jardin auquel je tiens beaucoup . Je peux aussi aider les étrangers à perfectionner leur français puisque j'ai été prof de français aux Etats Unis. C'est aussi un moyen de rompre la solitude bien que j'ai pas mal d'amis et que j'organise souvent des fêtes dans ma cave voûtée l'hiver et ma cour fleurie l'été.

  • Help

    Help

    I am 78 years old and I was au pair in my youth to learn English, German and Italian. So I was doing workaway before it was created on the internet. I live in a large, historic house, with apartments and a gîte. I also have a vegetable garden in biology and many flowers.
    So I need help me to maintain the house (household, DIY) to do the cooking and the dishes (there is a dishwasher) A help in computers will also be appreciated.

    J'ai 78 ans et j'ai été au pair dans ma jeunesse pour apprendre l'anglais, l'allemand et l'italien. Donc je faisais workaway avant que ça ne soit créer sur internet. J'habite une grande maison, historique, avec des appartements et un gîte. J'ai aussi un jardin potager et beaucoup de fleurs.
    Donc il faut m'aider à entretenir la maison (ménage, bricolage ) à faire la cuisine et la vaisselle ( il y a un lave vaisselle) Une aide en informatique sera aussi appréciée .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    FRANCAIS ANGLAIS ITALIEN ALLEMAND

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The volunteer is accommodated in the guest room and sharing my bathroom. I would like somebody who is tidy and makes his/her bed and sometimes mine. There might be a vacant apartment for you, depending on the time of the year.

    Le ou la volontaire est logée dans la chambre d'amis et on partage la salle de bain. J'aimerais bien quelqu'un qui range sa chambre et fasse son lit. En période creuse, il se peut qu'il y ait un appartement vacant pour vous.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are 3 bicycles in the house. I have been a militant ecologist for 40 years. I like to welcome young and old cycling enthusiasts. I eat vegetarian, although I eat good organic meat from time to time; I am a wine amateur, although I have reduced my concumption lately. Tasting wine from different areas is another way of traveling and discovering the art of winemakers because making good wine is an art.
    I am also an activist for regional languages ​​(in Alsace there is a Germanic dialect) and I like to involve my volunteers in various events. The Alsace region is rich in monuments and its hills covered with vineyards and the nearby Vosges offer magnificent opportunities for walks on foot and by bike. There is also the proximity of big cities like STRABOURG capital of Europe, Freiburg in Germany and BASEL in Switzerland.
    I had tremendous helpers, young and not so young, but there were also people who had just come to spend a cheap holiday, without much interest in my militant activities . So I'm looking for people with some ENTHUSIASM and IDEALISM.


    Il y a 3 vélos dans la maison. Je suis une écologiste militante depuis 40 ans. j'aime acceuillir des jeunes et moins jeunes adeptes du vélo. Je mange plutôt végétarien, bien que je mange de la bonne viande bio de temps en temps, mais surtout j'aime le vin dont je défends le bon usage et la valeur culturelle . Boire, ça s'apprend, c'est une autre façon de voyager et de découvrir l'art des vignerons car faire du bon vin est un art .
    Je suis aussi militante pour les langues régionales ( en Alsace on parle un dialecte germanique) et j'aime bien faire participer mes volontaires à diverses manifestations . La région Alsace est riche en monuments et ses collines couvertes de vignobles et les Vosges toutes proches offrent de magnifiques opportunités pour des promenades à pied et en vélo. Il y a aussi la proximité de grandes villes comme STRABOURG capitale de l'Europe, Freiburg en Allemagne et BASEL en Suisse.
    J'ai eu des aides formidables, jeunes et moins jeunes, mais il y a aussi eu des gens qui étaient simplement venus pour passer des vacances pas cher, sans grand intérêt pour mes activités militantes et assez fainéants. Donc je cherche des gens avec un certain ENTHOUSIASME et IDEALISME.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (3.0)








Host ref number: 627915866498