We are an English/Brazilian family with 2 small children (4 and 6) living on a remote farm of 40 hectares in the Chapada Diamantina area of Bahia. Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1024

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English/Brazilian family with 2 small children (4 and 6) living on a remote farm of 40 hectares in the Chapada Diamantina area of Bahia. We speak English and Portuguese and a little Spanish and French. Both children speak English and Portuguese. This is one of the reasons we enjoy this cultural exchange for the family to practice speaking other languages, exchange recipes and a general cultural exchange. We have 3 dogs, 2 cats, 2 horses, 2 cows and chickens and ducks (if the dog hasn't got to them!!) We have planted on the farm coffee, mangos, avocados and some vegetables depending on the season.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is very remote (and quiet) we have only wind and solar power, there is a small village 20 mins walk from the farm for basic supplies and a larger town 20 mins drive for weekly shops. We enjoy living at a slower pace and trying to use what we have to make what we need where possible. We enjoy listening to music and discussing the world and teaching the children - access to different cultures opens the mind.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in the house with general chores, child care and we love cooking. Also for those that enjoy it there are jobs around the farm with building, repairing animal pens, planting and looking after animals. We sometimes go camping or trekking in the surrounding areas . Looking for people who are relaxed and happy to turn their hand at anything. We maybe looking to spend more time in the town of Lencois in the future which will mean a different pace of life and help more in the home and with the children.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, portuguese, a little french and spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a few different options of simple accommodation. We have a camper van with a double bed which is parked in the garden for visitors and we are preparing a guest house on the farm (800m from the main house) or there are places you may prefer to camp. At the moment the bathroom facilites are in the house but we are in the process of making other facilites at the guest house. Food is generally prepared and eaten together but if in the guest house there will be a wood stove and breakfast and/or dinner can be prepared there too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although within the popular tourist area of the Chapada Diamantina we are a long way from the tourist hub, sometimes we visit Lençóis for work. In Lençóis there are many day trips and longer treks available. For short term visitors it is easier to spent days of on the farm and see the local rivers etc. Or if people are staying long term we can offer accommodation in Lençóis to take a few days off at a time and enjoy the town and surrounding areas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 625994822135