Help with some garden and household projects in the beautiful Canterbury countryside, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 318 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    78  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/01/2021

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a couple who like to meet people from around the world by hosting work-away guests. Our situation is suited for older (over 25) travel savvy & independent guests, who like being active. A sense of humor and good work ethic is also important.

    Currently we are seeking help from work away guests to assist with general yard work; gardening, weeding as well as housecleaning. If you like to cook we are always grateful to have a meal prepared for us. We are also needing help over the summer with caring for our animals including our pets -horses and dogs.

    Our property, near to Christchurch city, has incredible views over Pegasus Bay. We have sheep and beef cattle and we farm animals for our livelihood. We live in a rural area and our setting is suited to people who like to be in the country.
    Our home is spacious and guests have comfortable accommodation in our home.
    When the daily tasks are completed - usually in the morning, the afternoons are free for people to explore the area. The attractions of Canterbury scenic beaches and city sites are easily reached from our home, ideally guests would have their own transport.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have traveled extensively ourselves and are keen to meet people from around the world. We love to talk and share travel stories while we share meals together. We are keen to have guest who are both sociable and hardworking. We can help guest with advice about parts of New Zealand to visit and we will assist you to see some of the local attractions.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks that we set are varied as our outside tasks are weather dependent. We make a start early in the mornings and complete 4-5 hours of work per day. Task include; household cleaning, weeding gardens, farm chores like collecting firewood and clearing land from noxious weeds.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide accommodation in our home which is warm and comfortable. We can host singles or couples and we have comfortable private bedrooms. Guests will have access to separate bathroom facilities. We will provide all of the main meals which include vegetarian options. Workaway guest who enjoy cookery are always welcome to prepare some meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home has views over the pegasus bay and we are within easy reach of walking tracks and beaches.
    Our home is 40 minutes drive from Christchurch and attractions are easily reached and visitors can plan on visiting attraction in Akaroa and Hamner Springs
    People can do day trips easily from here. We are happy to take some time out with our guest to see the local area; many fantastic beaches are within easy reach of our property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














































Host ref number: 625154998671