Tarruco, Organic gardening and rural life among the beautiful Cantabria mountains, Spain



Favourited 389 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are María, András and Dani, a Spanish - Hungarian family . In 2015 we decided to shift our life from office work in London to start an organic homestead in the beautiful Cantabrian mountains under the name of "Tarruco".
    After our son Dani was born last Summer we took a break in hosting volunteers, as our house got quite busy, but this season we have teamed up with our friends from "La Alegrilla", a nearby family project to help us with providing accomodation and share tasks for volunteers. You should read more about them on their Workaway profile "La Alegrilla: Family gardening and bioconstruction project in the pasiegos valleys of Cantabria, Spain" as half of your stay will happen there!
    Volunteers will sleep at la alegrilla and work on both projects during the day. So again please READ CAREFULLY ALL THE DESCRIPTIONS!

    In Tarruco, we grow organic vegetables, fruit and walnut trees, we keep some animals and hope to do preserves in the near future. We have chicken, sheep, and cats. We try to develop a homestead with permaculture principles in mind.

    We like foraging and experimenting new recipes, preserving and cooking, swimming and hiking our nice surroundings. We enjoy meeting and working with proactive people interested in a self sustainable life style and our life project, so please don´t consider us as an opportunity for cheap holiday. We´ve also been volunteers ourselves and have lived in different countries (Italy, Iceland, The Netherlands, Germany, UK...) always enjoying the multi cultural experienced.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share all we have learned on our way at the garden, animal keeping, cooking, preserve making, rural life and starting a new life and business in north Spain.

    We usually speak English in Tarruco, but if you are keen on improving your Spanish, we will do our best to speak as much as possible in Spanish.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Work days will be distributed evenly between our project and that of La Alegrilla so be sure you are familiar and ok with both descriptions!
    Here you have the description for our project.

    *️️️️️️️TARRUCO: market garden and land maintenance, more precisely: prepare garden beds, spreading compost, planting, garden maintenance, watering, seeding, weeding, cutting and collecting grass, removing bramble or nettles, harvesting veggies, picking berries, preparing orders, mulching, installing watering systems, improving infrastructures, fencing, painting and building works, construction projects, making firewood, general maintenance works, feed and care for the animals, collect the eggs, help with the baby, etc.

    DAILY HOUSE DUTIES (cooking, washing up, cleaning) will be shared between everybody.

    Please keep in mind that most of our tasks involve long time outdoors, and can be physically demanding, but we know the job can be great fun and very rewarding!

    *️La Alegrilla: consult their profile for details on tasks at their place.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We live in a rural area with wonderful views to the valley and the mountains. The two projects are very close (15mins walk) to each other, and volunteers will be accommodated at La Alegrilla.

    Basic accomodation is provided in a Yurt, the yurt has two partitions which give some privacy for sleeping and a common area with cooking facilities. The bathroom is in the main house.

    FOOD is provided for all the meals, we will cook together lunch on Working days, but Breakfast, Dinner as well as lunch on free days will be arranged for the volunteers by themselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our area (Valles pasiegos) is the typical Cantabrian countryside with mountains, forest, pastures, creeks and beautiful landscape, so you will have the opportunity to enjoy our rural life style.

    Around 2km away there is a village where you can find a shop, some bars and the bus stop.

    The sea and Santander (the region´s capital) are around half an hour away by car. There is public transport in the area, but it is fairly limited. We have bikes you can borrow.

    Nature is at our the doorstep, you can find plenty of birds, wild animals, and nice areas to hike around.

    We are normally expecting volunteers to stay for around 2 weeks, this period could be extended upon agreement.

    We love positive, easy going and pro active people. We´ll do our best to make you feel at home and have fun with us :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 625144963217