Join us on our hobby farm near the beautiful city of Saskatoon, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are currently looking for an independent, enthusiastic person to help *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️

    We have a small family hobby farm on 160 acres just outside Saskatoon which is a nice tourist destination, such a beautiful city.
    We have horses, donkeys and chickens, and pigs seasonally.
    We have four young children and are a homeschool family.
    The workaway help would be to interact with 2 kids while the other 2 are homeschooled. Take part in grocery pick up and meal prep we will teach you lots about us and would love to learn about you, your country and maybe your favorite meals. The workload is light and we try and make sure you see a good part of the countryside as well if you would like to see the city we could arrange for you to visit the city to see what it is all about.
    Helpers must enjoy interacting with children and animals!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Saskatoon is a beautiful holiday destination it’s a beautiful city to get to see, we live 20 minutes outside of town on 160 acres. It is beautiful in our property a little piece of heaven.
    Lakes near by with many hiking and biking trails,wildlife, artists and music.

    We are a friendly family who have traveled in the past, and look forward to meeting and sharing stories, culture, language and experience with other interesting people.

    Helpers can benefit from learning about taking care of animals, garden, a permaculture based garden, fresh local home-cooked food, markets, a beautiful destination, and a lot of youthful energy and imagination.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a very easygoing family with lots of projects on the go, and 4 young, energetic children. Help can vary depending on the skills of the helper, and the time of year. Help doing interesting projects with children (fun projects of your choice, build treehouse, fix bicycles, soccer, learning English ), maintaining and planting the vegetable garden, building and maintaining outbuildings, general farm maintenance, animal care, are all possibilities . Help in terms of basic household chores (meal cleanup, toiletry, and basic tidying) are expected from all house guests.

    Also opportunity to visit other farms to volunteer and music festivals that are close by that you can visit or volunteer at.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room and board provided.
    Meal prep on occasion

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers can visit the city during time off, beautiful lakes near by, music festivals or events happening in Saskatoon.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can provide a desk, chair and wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week



Host ref number: 624745817852