Some dog walking, gardening and around our home in Munster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 37 year old male from the area where we live now, I have traveled for many years and since returning home I have gained a great appreciation of the area here on my own doorstep. I run a coffee caravan in the village of Glengarriff, I really enjoy this work as it provides people with a great social platform to meet friends and new people to the area. I really love the outdoors and my downtime is usually spent walking the dogs (there is 3 of them at the house) or swimming in the sea.

    My mother also lives at the house, however, she is gone a good amount of the summer months as she plays Irish traditional music at various festivals. The garden is mums passion, she has a wild garden with a pond and stream running through the middle of it. It is a very tranquil setting which is lively with wildlife in the summer. She also has a poly tunnel, last year she grew mostly tomatoes, kale and lettuces.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Food will be provided, very healthy and also I will bring back some lovely coffee from the caravan :)

    The house is in a remote location with several neighbours, this provides a very relaxed environment and a chance to get in touch with your creative side. There is Irish music played in the village the odd night and the radio at home is usually tuned into an Irish music radio station.

    I am very open minded and willing to help with improving your command of the english language while here. In the past some workawayers have accompanied me to the caravan for a day or two where I can show you some barista skills. It's also a great location to get in contact with locals and other visitors to the area.

  • Help

    Help

    I have one space left for the month of February

    For the month of February it is my intention to do up a small one room stone cottage, this will require for the most part lime plastering, it is something I have never done before, but it is a skill I'm really looking forward to learning. The inside of the building will be fully plastered, ceiling insulated and the floor is concrete so I'm thinking of buffering it. It sounds like a big job but it really isn't too big, as it will only require your help 4 hours per day.

    I have two spaces for the month of March

    For the month of March I'm planning on building a outdoor sweat lodge, the wooden from is already there, but the plan is to build it out of stone on the sides and back. On the front/roof the intention is to build a grass roof of sorts. There is also a cast iron bath that will be used for a seaweed bath, we will build a base for it so that it can be heated by fire. I'm extremely excited about these projects.

    May, June, July and August

    Within these months I'll be looking for help, mostly with dog walking, gardening and general tidy about the house. It is a really busy period for me as I run a coffee caravan and bake the snacks for the caravan in the evenings. Therefore, I am gone most of the day, but my mother is usually home during these months.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is my mothers and she is away for two weeks from the 24th of May and the month of July (these are the times I will need help) You will be staying in an small house, its cosy and warm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Locally there is a nature reserve which is wonderful for walks, the sea is 5 minute walk from the house and really nice for swimming in during the summer months. There is lots of small local mountains to explore and there is a farmers market nearby every Friday.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day 5 days a week



Host ref number: 624638551616