Hobby farm near Brisbane and Gold Coast, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My property is located half way between BRISBANE and the Gold Coast, plus 20 klms from Morton Bay and the islands, and one hour drive to the Mountains such as Mt Tamborine.
    Close by, 15 minutes walk, is a major shopping centre, the LOGAN HYPERDOME, with many shops, eateries, coffee shops , restaurants and cinemas. Just 5 klms away is the State Forest, Daisy Hill Koala Park which runs a sanctuary for koalas that you can visit. Kimberley State Forest with its beautiful bushland settings is approx 1 klm away, a 10 minute easy walk.
    This property is a hobby farm set on 2/3 acre, with a swimming pool. Here I have dogs, cats, and chickens, wild birds and resident possums, plus many gardens, including a vegetable garden and many fruit trees.
    Work is 5 hours per day with 2 days off, so we usually work in the mornings and after lunch, you have the afternoon free. Generally, work includes gardening, weeding, cutting back trees, repairing fences or drainage, digging trenches, composting, looking after the animals and pool, and some general cleaning in the house, if necessary.
    Food is vegetarian only. I can not cater for vegan, raw food, gluten free or lactose intolerant as meals comprise of free range eggs from my chickens, cheese, milk, cream, bread, pasta, pizza, vegetables and salads.
    Smoking is not allowed anywhere on the property, excessive drinking, or bringing meat, seafood and chicken here. If you would like to eat these, the shopping centre is nearby.
    Accommodation is in the house. You have your own room and bathroom which you need to keep clean.
    You are treated as one of the family and I am happy to organise outings for your entertainment. Usually we may play a board game etc at night, or watch a movie.
    Wi fi is free for your use.
    As one of the family, you must be polite and respectful, we eat meals together and prepare meals together as well.
    The animals are also part of the family and must be treated with respect as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit by learning about garden maintenance such as pruning trees, mulching, composting with Permaculture methods; use of tools and machinery; animal husbandry; English studies ; plus knowledge and experience of local area and Australia. Visit the Koala Sanctuary, see the wallabies in the wild, native

  • Help

    Help

    Helpis mainly outside with gardening, weeding, cutting back trees, lawn mowing, edge trimming, general garden maintenance, attending to rainwater drainage, animal care, and pool maintenance etc. Some work may be inside with cleaning and tidying, esp if raining.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room and shared bathroom if other workawayers are here. This is a 2 storey house and bedrooms are upstairs.
    I also do rentals online, here so the rooms are a high standard.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It’s an easy walk to the major bus station at the LOGAN HYPERDOME, from where you are catch a bus to the Brisbane city, or to the Beenleigh train station to go to the Gold Coast.
    I will drive you around the local area so you can familiarise yourself.
    There are also local bus stops not far from this property.
    If you are here for a week or more, I can drive to Morton Bay at Victoria Point so you can experience the Bay.
    This is a quiet area, with various wild birds singing in the trees. I mainly work from home in my office .
    I have been a member of another organisation since 2003 and have had hundreds of overseas visitors here, I have enjoyed their company and have stayed in touch with many as well over the years.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 619136954345