Help with our permaculture garden in Talara, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    69.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are community of 6 adults and 4 noisy children (aged 0-4). We share together community meals and community building activities such as dancing, singing, playing and working together. We are trying to grow nutrient rich and healthy vegetables from our large garden. We are using various techniques to help improve soil quality and sustainability, including regenerative farming, permaculture and Korean natural farming techniques. September will mark the be the beginning of an epic reforestation project. Thousands of tree cuttings, from a wide diversity of mostly diciduous trees, will be collected and rooted, large quantities of mulch layers will be integrated, biological and mineral soil amendments added, sapling propagation beds built, irrigation systems established. Once the cuttings have rooted, planting and monitoring will begin. All in all, a valuable experience of how to reforest and support diverse ecosystems will be explored and community life shared.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are perched on the foothills of the sierra nevada mountains which offer a remote setting, stunning views, cooler weather and great walks. Between us, we are from 6 different countries, including Spain, Argentina, Italy, Germany, Uk and Sweden. We love our piece of paradise and look forwards to sharing it with you.

  • Help

    Help

    Many of the tasks will require independence and self motivation. We run a permaculture garden and offer opportunities to get involved with many of the associated activities such as making and applying mineral and biological plant amendments, managing irrigation systems, seed growing, planting and harvesting. Our enterprise is non-commercial and we grow food only for ourselves. We also maintain olive and almond trees, potentially requiring our work, depending on the season. As with the garden, the produced oil is enough to last us through the year and it is not a commercial enterprise. We ask for 25 hours of work per week and welcome hard working and committed volunteers. Accommodation is a shared twin room with an on-suite bathroom. Some meals will be communal (to which cooking can be apart of work hours if desired) and some meals will require self sufficiency (with food provided, not apart of helpinghours).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    The four most commonly spoken languages are English, Spanish, Italian and Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Twin room ensuite (you will probably have to share it with a 2nd volunteer)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our volunteers in the past have enjoyed local walks, trips to Granada and to the beach. We go to the beach occasionally and can join us or public transport from the nearest town is another option. Otherwise can you enjoy your time off lazing by the pool. A weekly pizza night is also available to attend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Go for it, wifi or hotspot ( I recommend digimobile service provider for a strong hotspot connection)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 616989676618