Building a straw bale house, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 42 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I have been a biodynamic/organic farmer all my life and am very lucky to now be in the position of building a straw bale house here on the farm together with volunteers. We started in August 2017 and it is going well, with a great 'team' spirit. There is still lots to do!

    The house we are building is on the farm, which is a 600 acre mixed biodynamic farm which also has its own shop and café. It is a CSA farm (Community Supported Agriculture) right on the edge of the village of Forest Row.

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a large farm team made up of quite a few nationalities and we eat breakfast and lunch together during the week. We are also next to Emerson college were there are many cultural activities going on. So not only will you be able to learn quite a bit about eco-building but you will be part of a larger community of people on a farm with lots going on in the area.

  • Help


    I am building a house using straw bales with the help of volunteers. The straw walls will be covered in a render made from clay on the farm. You do not need to have building skills so long as you are happy to learn and work hard.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some German

  • Accommodation


    We have one very nice room available with its own toilet and shower, which is usually used for apprentices. We otherwise have a caravan available and camping is also possible. The farm team eat breakfast together as well as lunch. The lunches are cooked using only organic/biodynamic food and we cater for vegetarian as well as meat eaters. The suppers are not eaten together but you will be provided with the food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a number of local volunteers who come and help regularly as well as volunteers who have come from further away. I am happy to say that they all enjoy it!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 614799132169