Farm life and refurbishment of a farmhouse in the Italian hills

  • Favourited 79 times
  • Last activity: 21 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a bi-national Italian/Portuguese family with two daughters aged 17 and 14. We live on a farm in the Apennine hills near Castel Del Rio at the border between Tuscany and Emilia Romagna in Italy. In our free time, we grow our own vegetables, fruits and a small vineyard, take care of the woods and land belonging to our farm. We love to do
    open-air activities and to meet new people. We are almost finished with rebuilding our farmhouse. We have three cats.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers may benefit from practising Italian and Portuguese languages, experience living in an old Italian farm, enjoy and visit central/northern Italy. Taste homemade meals and freshly collected vegetables.

  • Help


    We need some help with the refurbishing of our home, so we would appreciate some building experience. We also have old furniture and doors that need to be cleaned or painted. We would like to host an English speaking volunteer so that our daughters could practise English. Some help on the farm would also be appreciated, gardening, weeding, cutting wood, cutting the grass...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    The farm is a historical building made of stones surrounded by woods and fields. The traveller will have its own room and toilet. Meals will be prepared by the family or by the traveller and shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located in the Santerno Valley. It is possible to bathe in the Santerno river, which is only 2 km away. The farm is in the Apennines and it is possible to enjoy walks in the woods. Mountain bike tracks are also available in the area. Castel del Rio is located 6 km away from the farm. Buses to Imola are available with a frequency of 1 bus per hour to the Imola Train Station. Bologna, Florence, Venice, Padova, Ravenna, Verona, and other cities are easily accessible from Imola. Bologna Airport is one hour distance from the farm by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of space for campervans and tents.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I'm sorry but our cats don't like dogs. ;-)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 612658512867

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)