Experience life on a farm in Southern Norway in a village called Engesland in Aust Agder



Favourited 116 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 54 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    welcome workaways with permaculture experience as we want to learn about this methode( small scale) . Also caprenting and bricklaying are good skills.

    We are a family of 4, Olav 52, Anette 44, Nicoline 8 and Helje 6. We live on a farm in Southern Norway in a village called Engesland. Olav work as a professor in mathematics, Anette stays at home, and the girls go to school and nursery. The farm is situated in peaceful surrondings, and the nature around it is very nice. There is f ex a whole lake for fishing and swimming almost completely to yourself, nice walks and a rich bird life. There is one hour drive to Kristiansand, Arendal, Grimstad which all are nice towns with all you need, and 30 minutes to a bigger village Evje, with most things you need. There is little public transport( one bus in the morning at 7am weekdays, one back at 3pm weekedays), but the possibility to have a lift with us. There is a small shop for supplies in the village, 5 km away from the farm.

    I, Anette, am very interested in Astrology ( and also would like to learn/excercise more yoga), so workawayers with a good knowlegde and interest of that are very welcome to come to our farm

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will include you in some of our meals, both traditional Norwegian cooking, and welcome very much cooking from workawayers countries. We can also give advice on things to do.

  • Help


    Outdoor painting, indoor painting, carpenting, bricklaying, cleaning, decorating, furniture painting, window cleaning, general cleaning. ( astrology? ) helping with kids, help with vegeablegarden

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English(both of us) German(Olav), a little French(both)

  • Accommodation


    Own room in one of our two houses. Both houses are nicely decorated and there is plenty of space

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you love peace and quiet you'll love it here. There is some sport activities on in the village, once or twice a week. Things such as concerts does happen occassionaly, but not in walking distance and not on a regular basis. But in the towns there is plenty of cafes, shopping and cultural events going on. But again, there is not much public transport here, so if you need other things than nature, food and work for entertainment then we are not the right choice :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 612543534523