Help harvest chillies and raise ducks in the village of Nedlitz, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I run a small farm where we raise ducks and grow chiles, so far in a non-commercial way. We have been here for less than two years, and are slowly transforming this place. I have a day job which I do via home office. We have 5500 square meters, 3 large poly tunnels full of New Mexico chiles, 2 dogs, 20 runner ducks and 3 cats. Our ducks produce the fertilizer for the plants. We are working on building a music recording studio as well. We are in a small village in Sachsen-Anhalt, near Zerbst.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a bilingual, bicultural US-German family of artists, nonprofit administrators, musicians and enjoyers of fine gourmet food.

    This area has some interesting small towns with lots of history, castles, biosphere reserves, local food producers, and big open spaces. Dessau, home of Bauhaus and the river Elbe are a 30 m drive away.

  • Help

    Help

    Yard maintenance, gardening, animal care, carpentry and masonry projects. In the fall, harvesting and processing chiles.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bunkhouse with a small tea kitchen. Bathrooms and kitchen are jointly used. We want to build a bathhouse and sauna in the near future. We sit down for a home cooked meal every night, which you are welcome to join.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can get here by train, to Wiesenburg/Mark or Zerbst, where we can pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs ok if they don't chase ducks or cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 611653378156