Come help us and experience fun on the farm in Mareeba, Queensland

Country

Australia

Favourited 197 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/01/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small Tahitian lime farm with about 500 trees which need to be picked, washed and packed.
    I also recently started producing sugarcane-lime juice, made with our own harvest, which is always fun to sell at markets around on the weekends!
    Since it's a small family business I just need a couple extra hands sometimes.

    When there is less work on the farm, there is also cleaning the house and helping with anything needed to be done (mowing the lawn, sugar cane cutting and cleaning, marketing help, etc).
    It's a shared house with a lot of people which is fun but sometimes can get a bit chaotic.

    I might be needing help with skilled labour, as I am currently renovating my house. So if you have any building experience, this could come in very helpful.

    In exchange for 5 hours of work per day, 4 days a week, you will be provided with a bed in a chill shared house and all your food (cooking and alcohol/snacks is your responsibility).
    If there is extra work to be done at the farm, all the extra hours will be paid. (minimum wage)


    P.S: I'm interested in learning Italian, so that would be a bonus.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to learn about the growing and maintaining of a lime farm.
    We are also willing to teach you about the producing of sugarcane-lime juice and the process behind it.
    If you have specific skills or interests, I'm more than happy to listen to your ideas.
    Occasionally, there'll be crafty or artsy projects too, so the width of possibilities is big!
    You will also have access to information and a peek into the Aboriginal culture here in Australia.
    Mareeba is a quite urban town, with access to the coast, as well as further outback.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We primarily need help on our lime farm, mainly with picking limes, as well as washing, sorting, packing.

    Sometimes there will be other work needed on the farm, such as pruning the trees, general maintenance. We will usually only ask you for help with these tasks if you have experience or are interested in learning new skills.

    On the weekends, you can come to the markets where we sell our juice.

    I might be needing the occasional help with skilled labour, as I am currently renovating my old style Queenslander house. So if you have any trade experience, this could come in very helpful.

    While you are staying at my house, you will be provided with board, yet are expected to help out with keeping the house clean and tidy, occasional grocery shopping, cooking, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A shared room for the volunteers will be provided in my 5 bedroom house, where I live with other house mates.
    The kitchen as well as the two bathrooms are shared.
    Wifi included.

    The house is located at the edge of Mareeba town, only a 7 minute drive from the farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mareeba is located about 60 km west of Cairns, on the east coast in Far North Queensland.
    As a part of the Tablelands, you will be very central to a variety of ecological environments: Cairns City, multiple beaches, the Great Barrier Reef, various islands, the Daintree rainforest, the cape, outback bushlands, waterfalls, mountains, …

    When I am not working myself, I often go on little trips, so during your stay here, you are more than welcome to join me on my adventures and explore Far North Queensland and its beauties.

    You will also have access to a bicycle, if you want to go on a ride by yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)






Host ref number: 611468135122