Help us with caring for pure breed chickens in a village near Göcek, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British/Swiss couple who have been living in Turkey for 20 years. Our village is 10km away from Göcek, where there are shops, restaurants and yacht marinas. We rent a newly built stone house, surrounded by olive trees and pine forest. Our main occupation is breeding pure breed chickens. At the moment there are about 100 of them, in 19 different units.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can see how expats live in Turkey. We love the country and people, but see it with European eyes.
    Chicken breeding according to breed standards, at the level of international competitions.
    Jon is a native Englisch speaker and has a British sense of humour :-)

  • Help

    Help

    Chicken care: Cleaning, feeding, observing, handling, health care, incubating and hatching chicks
    We love volunteers who can cook as part of their help
    Garden work: Weeding, planting, hoeing, moving compost, watering plants

    We have a gardener/caretaker and you will be doing some jobs alongside him. He only speaks Turkish

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room on the ground floor with own bathroom and kitchenette. This bathroom and kitchenette are used by us only during the day. We live on the first floor.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Prefer single person
    We have a cat
    We can give you an insight into Turkish life, take you to village families to see how they live.
    We are well travelled in Turkey and can help with travelling plans you may have.
    There is extremely limited public transport, but we drive to Göcek at least 4 times a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 611259948845