Come enjoy our slice of heaven, teach us a foreign language and help in the garden in North Otago, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly middle aged couple living on a lifestyle block in beautiful North Otago. Patrick is a retired teacher and Sara is an architect, working from home. We are both relaxed, easy going, intelligent and well read.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place is really beautiful and we live a simple kiwi lifestyle. We have travelled overseas and love to meet new people because we are both pretty social.
    Our property is in a tiny village which used to be a gold mining town. There are no shops. There is lots of history in the area and lots to see and do. Sara is crafty and likes to sew and make things. We have a small vegetable garden and have started to grow lots of nut trees.

  • Help

    Help

    Patrick is recovering from a recent stroke and is really keen to return to foreign language learning to help him rebuild his brain. Patrick speaks basic French, German and Russian. He is also interested in Spanish. Patrick suffers from some fatigue so it would be great to have a hand around the property with some gardening and mowing. We would be looking for someone who can provide a couple of hours of language practice and a couple of hours in the garden daily.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Basic German, French and Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cosy sleep-out with a queen size bed and nice bedding. The sleep-out is solar powered and has a deck with a great view. It is private from the house and has it's own outside toilet. (No smoking or cooking in the room please but you can make a hot drink there). If you are travelling with someone who you don't sleep with, we can offer a second cute sleep-out which is also our workroom, where the language lessons and sewing etc happen. Because our house is really small we also have a shared outdoor dining room and living area where we spend most of our time.

    We don't watch much TV, just the odd documentary. We like to cook but nothing really fancy - it is mostly home grown vegies and local meat. We sometimes make our own bread. Eating food informally with friends and neighbours is a big part of our weekly routine. We often have friends to stay for a night or two. We would enjoy it if you cooked in the evenings sometimes too.

    You would need to make your own breakfast and lunch, keep your room clean and change the sheets when you leave. :). We will provide all the food and you can help us with the shopping if you like.

    Because Sara works from a home office the internet is limited to social media and emails, as movie watching etc uses too much of our internet. (The sleepout is too far away for WiFi).

    We have no animals, but we do have a pet cat called Wendy. Most of our neighbours have animals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The place we live in is called Livingstone. We live a half hour drive from Kurow and Oamaru and are close to Danseys Pass. We have a couple of bicycles to use and we are near the Alps to Ocean bike route. We go to Oamaru a couple of times a week for shopping and socialising. Our area is well known for its fossils and interesting geology. We are close to the Waitaki Valley and there is a river you can swim in nearby. There is no public transport but we can arrange pickups.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 599993494379