Stay in an old water mill And help me bring it back to it’s former glory in Valencia, Spain



Favourited 385 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    My home is a very old water mill situated in a remote and small Hamlet in the province of Valencia. The coast is about an hour drive and the closest bigger village 20 minutes. Valencia and Alicante are around an hour drive too. The finca is about 30.000m2 of Mediterranean Woods, very beautiful all year round with the kick of a mountain feel since we are almost at 800 m altitude and there´s a small stream right on the front door.

    I am a therapist, working with Ayurveda ( traditional medicine from India), focused in finding the balance between mind, body and spirit, mainly through therapeutic massage. I run a small and humble clinic in the center of Valencia.

    Since the pandemic started, the idea to get the property in shape to be able to host guests coming for a relaxing time in nature is getting really strong and meaningful. I believe we are going through strange and hard times globally, the need for a safe and caring place in natural surroundings is a reality and my dream and purpose is to be able to provide that.

    Currently what I am looking for is someone who can be supportive in the following areas:
    - Someone really handy (I´m not very good at creating, building, renovating and so on) so I need someone with building and crafting experience to learn more from them. The house is old and in need of care and attention, although I have done a lot already, it was in pretty bad shape when I first moved in.

    - A person with an interest in self development, open minded and flexible. Also needs to be independent as I need to go to Work during the week in Valencia so they need to be ok being on their own some days. Own transport would be a plus so you can do things and explore when I’m not around.

    In Exchange I can show you the wonderful tecniques of Ayurveda massage and provide a safe and friendly environment to get in touch with your inner self and surrounded by wonderful nature.

    I cannot offer luxuries as the place is in full renovation right now but I will do my best to make your visit worth it. However, there’s full electricity and hot water since very recently, which I found a luxury after many years of not being so comfortable. The place has a lot of potential and good energy, peaceful, beautiful area.

    By the way, I am gay, not that it matters or need to explain myself but I mention it in order to avoid unpleasant surprises.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an amazing opportunity to spend time in nature. By helping me out hopefully you might also find it a rewarding experience. I can show you the local area and Valencia city and will also be more than happy to show you about Ayurveda massage and some nutrition.

  • Help


    Right now I’m in the middle of some important building work and although I try my best to do all I can, some jobs are out of my skills set, mainly everything related to building, designing and renovating. I am eager to learn more so I can also do work on my own. Anyone experienced would be wonderful so I can work alongside and keep on improving my skills. However, someone willing to learn and practice…trial and error (as I have being doing so far 😁) would also be welcome. I guess what I need also is the company to get more motivated!!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    One private room in the house with the right to kitchen and bathroom.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a fairly decent internet connection and wi fi all over, even outside the house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The land is big enough and with flat areas for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they are ok with other dogs and cats any pet is very welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 599241672649