Learn about building with ecological materials in the maximum respect of nature near Montpellier, France



Favourited 90 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Description


    Hello, we're building our house with wood, straw and earth in south of France (near Montpellier). We're a couple with 2 young children, and it's inside a collective project (10 families building ecological houses, with wood, earth and straw). We use to work on our "chantier" every monday and tuesday. We now make a pause in july and august, and begin again to work on the house in september. But if you want to stay more than 2 days, we can organise with neighbours who are also building their houses, just tell us so we can ask them !
    For example, we'll make earth and sand coatings on the walls inside, maybe wood penthouse, painting, anyway lots of things to do depending on what you like and how many people are here ; there are also some collective constructions for the common house of the village. Welcome, and don't hesitate if you have any questions.

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Building with ecological materials earth and straw in the maximum respect of nature and against waste, meeting all the families who are all building their own house in the "écohameau".
    Learn french of course. Meeting also all the people who will come to help us. Talk about the experience of building himself a whole house, and organise family life in a collective village.

  • Help


    Lots of things to do to build our house with wood, earth and straw. Walls and roof are finished, but still a lot of different work to do inside and outside. Just let us know early enouth and try to be sure if you come or not, so we can organise hosting !!!
    We'll be happy to host people who are as possible independant and autonomous !!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Camping or caravan (or friend's houses). There is also a collective kitchen with everything inside for cooking. And the shower in the common house is just finished (also "african shower" outside if you prefer) !!! We provide lunch and "apéro" !!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The region is totally beautiful, there is "Lac du Salagou" at 10 minutes, sea at 40 minutes, rocs to climb (Max is a climbing teacher) around, possible to ride or walk....
    Lodève is a nice little city with everything needed, at 5 minutes.
    And also I'm a musician, jammers are welcome if we have time !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 597844778396