updated  

Join our family home help needed for daily farm, garden and household life near Tuam, Co. Galway, Ireland

  • Favourited 49 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family of 3, our daughter is 7yrs old, we are all pretty easy going. Based in a small community village, 30 minutes from Galway City with a regular bus service to the city. We are looking to host a mature couple or individual to help with farm, garden and household duties for 2-3 weeks in May and/or June.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love meeting new people and sharing our home, we are in a great location for exploring the West of Ireland with many places accessible for day/weekend trips (Cliffs of Moher, Connemara, Wild Atlantic Way). Our village is steeped in history with interesting and scenic walks / places of interest.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General help around the farm (pasture management, cleaning), house (cooking & cleaning) and garden (maintenance, weeding etc).

    While I would not consider babysitting per se to be part of the help required (we spend as much time as possible with our little girl). We would like people who are comfortable being around children and would be ok staying with our daughter for short periods eg: 30mins while I go for a run. Only if our daughter and you are comfortable with this.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large room with kingsize bed, main bathroom is primarily yours to use; shared only with our 7yr old daughter. The whole house is yours to make yourself at home. We have a sun room, which is nice for reading in and a sitting room for TV alongside the main kitchen/dining area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local village has all basic amenities (supermarket, 2 bars, takeaway. Galway city and
    many small towns like Tuam, Athenry are easily accessible, we are just off the Limerick-Sligo/Dublin-Galway motorways - so a great starting point for any trips. Regular bus service to Galway City.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have worked from home for over 6yrs, we have strong wifi. I have a small well set up office space, that I'm happy to share when it is not in use.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have amble parking space for campervan.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Open to discussing this

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 596721731133

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help on our family permaculture project in Feakle, Ireland
Help two sisters with some home and garden projects in the countryside of Kilchreest village, Galway, Ireland