Help us with gardening, maintenance and woodwork in the Hurum peninsula, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two guys living in a beautiful house on the countryside in Røyken, close to the Hurum peninsula, and not far away from the capital Oslo (40 min. by car, 45 min by train). The house has three floors, two living rooms, a small reading room, three guest rooms with a double (not twin beds) with bathroom. Surrounding the house is a garden and a small forest. During spring, summer and fall we would need some assistance in the garden in addition to some wood and treecutting work in the forest. We are new to the Workaway-host -experience, so this first year will be somewhat experimental. We prefer therefor 1-2 maximum two weeks stay.

    We just moved to our new home, so we haven´t excactely defined what will be the projects for the upcoming summer. The most important thing at this moment will be to see what´s already on the property when the growing season starts, and then decide what we would further develop. Close to our house two good friends of ours have a flower production company. If we cannot offer you work on a particular day on our property, there will allways be work possibilities at their location (practical work, carpenter work etc.)

    A big part of our motivation to be hosts is to enjoy your company! Getting to know people, spend time together and share experiences is always a treat!

    On your freetime you will be able to travel to the cities of Drammen, Asker and Oslo, exploring the Hurum Peninsula (car/bike), enjoy the tranquility and quiet in and around the house, or have a walk on the forest roads/tracks in the area. There will be two bikes available at any time. We will of course give you tips about what to see and where to go when you are here.

    There are 10-15 min. drive by car to both Oslofjord and Drammenfjord. By bike it´s 40 or 20 min. The cities of Oslo and Drammen are reachable by car in about 35-40min. Please note that using public transport is somewhat complicated; To get to Oslo you would have to walk 15 min. to local bus st., then 10 min. bus drive to train station, and then 45 min. by train to Oslo. If time allows, we can take you to/pick you up at our local train station. If you don´t have a car, It would be a good idea not to plan to go to Oslo every day, but also be happy to enjoy the quiet and relaxed life in and around the house, and in the area.

    If you come by car, it will of course make your stay a lot more rewarding during your freetime.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In addition to taking part in our daily life and routines, we will of course show you a little around and give you a "flair" of this part of Norway. We will of course give you travel tips and ideas of what to do and see while you are here. If you have the ambition to learn some Norwegian during your time, we would love to assist you!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening. General house maintenance. Wood cutting (for the fireplaces in the house).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    2 guestrooms with double bed and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will of course provide all the meals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 595489636127