Help out with gardening and maintenance in Ballymena, Northern Ireland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    11

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Living in the Irish countryside, We have a large woodland garden with lots of features and opportunities for outdoor pursuits. The house is set in 7 acres with a lake with canoes, bonfire pits, a river and barn dens..

    Based in the middle of Northern Ireland,we are 5 miles from a large town and 30 miles from Belfast and 30 minutes from the nearest beach.

    Working part-time with variable hours. I often work around different parts of N. Ireland and will happily take volunteers around the sights. I work hard in my garden which I have crafted and cultivated making it a very peaceful place. Having friends and family come for dinners or afternoon tea is always great fun.

    I love to cook and bake and generally have homemade treats for family,friends and visitors. Having curry, pizza, bbq or bonfire nights with friends is great, especially in the garden.

    I speak some French (and sarcasm)

    My father and various friends lives nearby and we enjoy popping by to support each other or simply have a cup of coffee together.

    One jack russell relishs walks and attention. She is a gentle soul with the clear aim to sit on the knee of visitors.

    I've always have projects on the go and would love help with: chopping firewood developing a woodland walk, planting and transplanting. Other garden ideas are likely to pop up like building a wood wall, painting a shed or style a garden corner with some kind of theme.
    Help around the house is always welcome. Projects such as decorating, reorgansing cupboards, and general housework.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will get a warm welcome with a relaxed base. Depending on their preference they can stay in the house or in our barn-den.

    Good, healthy food is important in our house. Expect to eat well.
    Travellers will either practice or develop their gardening skills. The active lifestyle is healthy and fun - assuming they love the outdoors.

    With a network of friends, I'd plan to make sure travellers get to socialise with others,visit tourist attractions and get to know Northern Ireland.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers would have the chance to do forestry style gardening. I have a winsome garden with lots of quirky features. I'd ask for help to move collect and stack firewood,build woodland walkways,clear brambles. If they were comfortable they could strim, mow and drive the quad.
    General maintenance like fencing,pruning and weeding are other jobs to be undertaken.
    Depending on the time of year, harvesting apples, soft fruits might also be needed.

    There is always plenty of variety of tasks.

    I'm always happy to cook but am also happy to let others do so if they enjoy it. As the house is old, there are always did jobs on my list.

    Rarely do I have set task that HAS to be done at that time. I enjoy variety in getting the jobs done. I'll always be flexible in what we get done.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either double room in the house or barn-den. The latter is basic but private and chilled. It has a wood burning stove,pallet beds, a fridge and basic ablutions. For summer stays it's great but a bit chilly for spring or autumn.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport is available but not too regular. There are bikes and between myself and neighbouring family there is often an easy way to get to town or city.
    Travellers will be able to go out and about and I'll be glad to take them out to see attractions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 595456677167