Join us at Forest Garden and organic flower farm in the beautiful Wairarapa valley, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we love living in the beautiful Wairarapa valley which is known as a wine and food region with really friendly people and the most extraordinary night skies. We live on the rural town boarder of Carterton which is a 1hr 30mins train or car ride from New Zealand capital city, Wellington. We live with our two children, aged 13 and 12, 2 cats, a bunch of chickens and a super friendly Labrador in old 1920s farmhouse with lots of character which we moved on to the land and pulled apart and put back together. Our property covers 6.5 acres with a breathtaking backdrop of the Tararua mountains. There are some wonderful native bush walks and rivers near by. We love gardening and are in our first year of coverting 2 acres of our property into an organic cutting flower farm and food forest, planting 1200 natives on our boundry with the help of our fantastic friends this winter. We are now concentrating on getting the flower farm ready for our first season. We are vegetarians, non smokers and love eating from our kitchen garden. We love food, films, music, books, travel, trips to the river and beach and having friends over for shared dinners. We are pretty open minded, optimistic, hard-working and happy people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about the set up of an organic flower farm and food forest, all the challenges and rewards that come with that. There's not much that Rupert can't fix or build and he is a generous patient teacher. Heidi is the head gardener and planner managing to kill a few plants on her steep learning curve but happy to work along side and teach as she goes about her day on the farm. No day will be the same. We like variety.
    We would be happy to show you some special spots around the Wairarapa.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for gardening help on our organic cutting flower farm. Mulching, helping put down weed mat, sowing seeds and planting out. You will need to love plants and be physically fit. If you have building skills we need help with converting a shipping container into a chiller/ packhouse and errecting a tunnel house. If you also love cooking vegetarian dinners we may get your help here too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room/ bed with draws and desk at front of house. We are 10 mins from supermarket and will provide breakfast, snacks, ingredients for lunch and vegetarian dinners. This is a non smoking property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a 10 min bike ride into the Carterton township, (we have a bike you can use) and train station to Wellington. There are bush walks near by. We can take you to see some of the Wairarapa sites and recommend places to go in Wellington. Look at Destination Wairarapas website.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 594683274826