Share our daily family life and help with the children, pets, garden, home, renovation, hiking, picking,, in SW France, Navarrenx

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *{LAst minute : we need house et pets keeper for 1 week around the 7/8/9/10 of november }

    Séverine, Mickaël, around 34 years old, Robin (2014), and Oyan (2018). We are a simply family trying to enjoy the life. We are living in a house we have renovated (ecoconstruction), in a little village between PAU and BIARRITZ, 1h from ocean Atlantique or moutain (pyrénées). We have a small farm : chickens, 2 horses, 2 dogs, 1 cat, 1 rabbit (for company). We love travel and meet people despite our little level in english ;) ; Mika works half time like builder. Séverine works a little bit like occupationnal therapist. And the rest of time we have the best job : parents ;). Take care of our pets, garden, home, hiking, picking, cooking ...fill the rest of our time!
    we love learning : this moment we try yo learn picking, permaculture, riding (we would like), non violent communication, english and spanish... and we learn a lot from our children !
    This year Robin doesnt go to the school so we try to organize the days according to the needs and cravings (meet other children of the area who are unschooled, doing activities inspired by natural learning, forest school or montessori, but not only, follow local associations....)
    Our next projects : travelling and meeting ecoplace, to may live (create?) in this kind of place.

    For the house and pets keeping : we prefer spend times with you before leaving you the house and pets (1 week minimum) to take the time to know each pets and learn their needs. During our leave : member of our family and neighboor will come to have a look if everything is alright.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come share our daily life where you may learn about young children, pets, ecoconstruction, and be witness of our own learning with parenting, permaculture and all the others things we try to do by ourself (cooking, picking...).
    We love our mountains, our rivers, our ocean, there is always a place to discover and we are always searching family activities to do. And finally we have a beautiful region where bask and bearn culture are strong !

  • Help

    Help

    This next months : we would like some help to finish to renovate our house (or some help to play with children during we work in th house)

    We also need help with other things, depending the seasons et your interests :
    - Help us to take care our pets (feeding routines, watering, cleaning, maintenance, grooming, walk with horses, ballad with our dogs, care for the rabbit And the cat)
    - help us in the garden (weed...and eat ;) ; ) : planting, transplanting, harvesting, raking leaves, maintenance, clearing, watering, mulching, limbing...
    - help us in th house : cleaning, cooking, drying herbs, house maintenance...
    - wood chopping and during cold seasons : start the fire on the wood stove
    - renovate inside or outside, there is always something to do especially if you are interested by eco construction ;)
    - help severine to make activities for children or to make pedagogic materials
    - Spend time with us and our boys (playing, little walk...) to give us the possibility to imprenate english or spain langage. To play with children during we work around the house.
    - emptying the dry toilet and cleaning your life area (guesthouse, caravan)

    Shortly : we need a kind of second pair of hands in our little farm.

    If there are not enough work to give you (winter for example) : we may find a deal : we ask you only 2 or 3 days of work per person per week and in exchange we share the food costs (or you provide it by yourself if you prefer or other deal)

    For the house and pets keeping during 1 or 2 or 3 weeks or more : tasks are :
    - feed all the animals (and check the water) the the mornings between 8/9 AM and walk the dogs
    - walk the dogs 2 other times in the day or more
    - water in the garden when it's summer
    - to chop wood and heat the house when it's winter

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english a little bit

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have a renovated gite (on our house, like a guesthouse) with independant room, office, kitchen, bathroom and dry toilet
    it is although possible to occupate a room in our house and share the other pieces with us.
    no smoke inside the houses please
    About the gite :
    - i have one imperative inside the gite : i can need the office inside the gite a few hour in the week for my job (i am occuaptional therapist but i work very little, it's ponctual)
    - the room is upstair with narrow staircase but it's possible to put a bed on the ground floor if you feel more confortable.


    And we have a caravan. In this case you can use our toilett/bathroom or the toilett/bathroom of the guesthouse, according the availibility.
    Workawayer staying in tents or vehicles are welcome.

    I copy you a french description of our home : "Ancienne grange rénovée avec 1.5 hectares de parc dont 1 partie ombragée (jeux enfants : portique, trampoline, cage foot...), une partie potager, une partie fermée pour les chiens et voitures, et une partie pour notre mini ferme : un poulailler, un box et des près pour nos 2 chevaux... dans un hameau de 3 maisons en bout de village calme de 300 habitants, à 5 km de Navarrenx (toutes commodités, élu plus beau village de France). Amateurs de musique nous possédons 1 piano et 1 guitare que nous pouvons vous mettre à disposition. Des vélos enfants et adultes, des jeux enfants et adultes dans la pièce principale de notre logement. Hamacs, transat, jeux extérieurs, luge, skis, raquettes, cartes de randonnées ... tout est également équipé pour accueillir bébés et enfants en bas âge ! (les animaux y sont habitués) L'hiver le gite est chauffé au chauffage électrique, notre logement est chauffé avec un poêle de masse avec un banc chauffant très apprécié ! "

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your free time you can hiking or surfing or... : mountains, ocean and spain are 1h far away. we can drive you in a city where you can find train, bus, carpooling...
    we are on the saint jacques de compostelle way.
    we can lend you bikes for children and adults, trotinettes...
    Acivities around : Rivers are around 20 mn by walk ; In Navarrenx (4,5 km) : market the wenesday; library; toys library; supermarket ; swimming pool the summer, tennis ...

    Subsequent to a desapointed experience we need to write a kind of "Rules of community life" in our home :
    - we learn and we try to respect the local ressources (electricity, water, food, waste...) and go to a reasonable use of this. Please try with us ;)
    - the daily chores like : setting the tables, helping with sharing food, cleaning the table, the dish, the shared place, empty the dishwasher, tidying.... This daily tasks are sharing between you and us and are not included in the hours of work per days.
    - we ask you to take care of the materials please, if something is broken please tell us and we could try to find an arrangement.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.





Host ref number: 594262227128