La Alegrilla: Family gardening and bioconstruction project in the pasiegos valleys of Cantabria, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    556

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 42 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    Our family consists of 4 members. Mario and Maria, Leo (7 years old) and Sure (7 months), we live on a farm in a completely rural environment and isolated from the village.

    We came 10 years ago and little by little we are creating a space where we can live peacefully, educating our children in a place free to play and in complete connection with wildlife.

    We are rehabilitating an old hut of concrete blocks that used to be used for cattle and that little by little we are reforming with different materials, especially natural materials such as mud, wood and lime. We live inside the house, so the reform is slow. We are testing different techniques, making paintings, creating furniture, green roofs ... We love bio construction and creativity!

    This season we have teamed up with our friends (), a nearby family project, who also have a profile on workaway, so please READ CAREFULLY ALL THE DESCRIPTIONS!

    The farm is one hectare, composed of meadow, and trees. The criteria for the design of the farm are based on permaculture. At this moment 5 sheep, 5 chickens, 1 rooster and our dog (Yakka) live with us.

    We are sociable people. We like to feel that our house is alive! We love to cook and talk next to a good fire.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mario is dedicated to bioconstruction and has experience in thermal inertia stoves. María is an environmental educator and she dedicates part of her time, in addition to the education of the small one of the family, she elaborates and creates soaps and natural lenses to improve the plants of the surroundings.

    We have experience in offering workshops and courses on the subjects that we are passionate about, we like to share knowledge and knowledge of other people.

    We want to create a living space. We aim to create a project with principles of permaculture, so we are looking forward to being taught what they know about the subject and the same as us and that we will overcome it in practice. Sit, think, share, design and perform!

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks will be diverse depending on the season, and the work days will be distributed betweeen the two projects. Here you have some hints for

    LA ALEGRILLA:
    The priority is to obtain wood from the trees, cleaning and maintaining the farm:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Firewood collection
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Bramble cleaning
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Fencing maintenance (cleaning of grass, creating doors with wood, restoring broken fence areas)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Install fence for sheep
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Green roof (create the design, arrange the topsoil and plant)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Closing wall with mud.

    *️️️️️️️Our friends: (): prepare beds, spreading compost, planting, garden manteinance, watering, seeding, weeding, cutting and collecting grass, removing brambel os nettles, harvesting veggies, picking berries, preparing orders, mulching, installing watering systems, improving infrastructures, fencing, painting and building works, construction projects, cutting and collecting grass, general maintenance works, feed and care for the animals, collect the eggs, help with the baby, etc.

    DAILY HOUSE DUTIES (cooking, washing up, cleaning) will be shared between everybody.

    Please keep in mind that most of our tasks involve long time outdoors, and can be
    physically demanding, but we know the job can be great fun and very rewarding!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and some English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a rural area with wonderful views to the valley and the mountains. The two projects are very close to each other.
    Basic accomodation is provided in a Yurt, the yurt has two partitions which give some privacy for sleeping and a common area with cooking facilities. The bathroom is in the main house.

    FOOD is provided for all the meals, we will cook together lunch on Working days, but Breakfast, Dinner as well as lunch on free days will be arranged for the volunteers by themselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the Pasiegos Valleys, a quiet area that is very rural and at the same time tourist in Cantabria.

    The landscape is defined by meadows with livestock houses where cattle live, surrounded by trees. The valley is wide with wonderful views to the south. From the farm there is the option of making some mountain route and endless walks in the middle of nature between meadows and villages.

    In our daily life, we often go out, so we could organize trips to the bus stop, (it's 10 minutes by car). At this point there is a food store and the river is nearby.

    Santander is a small coastal city in the north of the region, which offers multiple activities, concerts, talks ... we can get information on events throughout the region so you can have a stay with multiple activities, if you wish.

    We want active people, with the ability to think, design and create with us and make them part of the family project. With desire to learn and to teach !!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 591411222425