Come and help on our family farm and learn about Italian cuisine in Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 180 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 36 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    La Casina (literally little house) is a beautiful Tuscan house, located in the amazing valley of Casentino.
    Mom Carla, dad Pippo, uncle Carlo and Noce (the dog) are living in this traditional house. Carmelo is my older brother, that is living in Bologna and I’m Agnese. Right now I’m traveling around the world, having so many Workaway experiences and that is why it all started!
    The farm, where my family lives, includes an apple orchard, a vineyard, some chickens, a pig, and a small vegetable garden.

    Mostly we are looking for helpers mainly during the picking season (apple & grapes) between September and November, but there is a lot more to do during the rest of the year. Carla is an amazing cook and she is willing to teach you some amazing traditional recipes. Pippo always needs help around the farm.

    The house is in the heart of the Casentino Valley, not far from Arezzo and Firenze. Public transportations are available to reach both cities. By the way Casentino has a lot to offer: beautiful hikes, amazing rivers, delicious food and stunning monastery are located nearby.

    Carla is an elementary teacher, so she will be out for half of the day. Carlo works in town and he will be out for most of the day while Pippo is taking care of the farm and the house.
    Unfortunately none of the components of the family speak English (except me, Agnese and my bother). But I will be probably in the other side of the world and Carmelo comes back home every once in a while. So it would be better if you know a bit of Italian. At the same time language barriers have never been a problem for our family. We always find a way to communicate, just be patient and willing to learn.

    La Casina is a truly warm place, there is always people around for a visit or a homemade stone oven cooked pizza. You will definitely find yourself part of a big family. My parents are new to Workaway, but they are used to host people. Me and my brother Carmelo have always brought our friends over from all around the world.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot a about Italian cuisine and preserving food, from jam to sausages. Carla has done many Italian course for foreign people, so she is a big resource for learning a new language. Pippo has been a farmer for more than 15 years, so he has a lot to share.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help mostly during the picking season, mid September for the grapes and November for the apples.
    But living in a farm requires a lot of work: making fire wood is always a task, feeding animals is part of the daily routine and help in the house is more than welcome. Would be great to start over the vegetable garden and do some maintenance to the road... Some specific project will be listed when scheduled.
    Helpers are not required to have any specific skill, just willing to learn and have fun.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private room with queen size bed and a share toilet next door.
    The room is located in the main house, so all the other spaces are shared with the family.
    Meals are always shared with the family. The diet is a perfect Tuscan (Carla) and Sicilian (Pippo) mix. Very varied! Meat is a solid component of it, mostly organic (from our pig and chickens). We can always find a compromise for specific food restrictions.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    La casina is locate in the hearth of the Casentino valley. Bibbiena and Poppi are very close and easily accessible by public transportation. Arezzo is 25km far, but the train station is less then a km far from the house. Firenze too is close enough to be visited in a day trip, you can reach it by bus or train. It may take a couple of hour to get there, perfect for your days off.
    Carla, Pippo and Carlo are very flexible and they can give you a lift to town or the closest train/bus station.
    Stunning Monastery are located in the valley (La Verna, Camaldoli, Romena) and beautiful hikes are near by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 587593818165