Help our family transition into a self-sufficient lifestyle near Koycegiz, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello there! We are a family of 4 with a newborn- Elif 39, Memet 44, Ela 6, and Ali- who've been trying to fully transition from our city life back in Istanbul to country living here in Koycegiz with the goal of becoming self-sufficient in our 3.2 acre farmland. Even though we've been accumulating some experience in farming over the last 5 years, we still have a ways to go and might feel a little overwhelmed at times by the workload alone.
    We welcome anyone who could land us a hand with the following; farm work, animal care, babysitting and tutoring our six year old, Ela, in English.
    You may see the help section for details.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    gardening, farming tips, turkish cuisine, language, computer skills

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are planning to build wooden cabinet, natural pool, milking room, children playground etc..
    Taking care of animals and irrigation are daily tasks. Building some automation for them is the first projects to go.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in a caravan, a tent or tiny house in the land.

    I cook everyday turkish meal, you are wellcome to join us and we would be pleased if you can share some your local cousin with us too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is near the forest, which is full of endemic sweetgum tree, you can follow the route in the forest to reach Köyceğiz lake or Toparlar waterfall. Köyceğiz lake is 10 min, and toparlar Waterfall is 30min by bicycle.
    Famous İztuzu beach, which is a narrow spit of land, which forms a natural barrier between the fresh water delta of the Dalyan river and the Mediterranean. It is one of the main breeding grounds for loggerhead sea turtles (Caretta caretta) in the Mediterranean.
    There is another beach on the opposite site of İztuzu beach, which is called Ekincik and it is 45 min drive from our farm.
    Fethiye and Marmaris is also 45 min drive from our farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our land is quite big but something like tarpaulins could come handy as finding shades could be a bit of a problem at times.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Sure, as long as you think they can get along with our animals in the farm.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)








Host ref number: 587448365311