Come help with our children on our farm, ride a horse, explore Ottawa

Country

Canada

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    367

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family farm in Ottawa raising lamb, pork, chicken, Turkey, geese, duck, eggs, and beef. We also have a small/moderate CSA garden. We are not certified organic but we follow free range, humane, chemical-free farming.
    We have over 80 acres on an NCC farm minute from the downtown core. We run various youth programs with horses that center on social skills.
    Accodomatations varies depending on season and length of stay: in a guest room on the house, barn bunk room, or tent. Meals are shared with the host family, with cooking and clean-up responsibilities shared.
    We are primarily looking for help with our children while both parents are military and are up for multiple short term postings in May and June.
    We have a weak WiFi, some TV channels, horse riding instruction available, and bikes available to travel into the city.
    No smoking anywhere on property.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You have the opportunity to learn about organic farming, harvesting and preserving.
    You will also learn husbandry skills with all animals on the farm.
    You can also choose to learn to ride or drive horses while you are here.
    You have ample time to explore Ottawa and it's surrounding area.

  • Help

    Help

    There are two families that live on the farm with a total of seven people, three dogs and lots of love!
    We are a family here and generally coexist with each other peacefully and look out for each other's children.
    We need help right now with childcare as one of our key farm business people has gone back to school full time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Varies by season:
    Guest room in the house with us (2 kids under 12 + 1 dogs)
    Tents/Yurt

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a non profit farm that works with at risk youth.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 584158342855