Helping out with tasks in the woods in the Copper River Valley of Alaska in USA

Country

United States

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Brad and I live in Southcentral Interior Alaska. I have about 7 acres of forested land that I've been maintaining and clearing for many years. My property is located in a 'relatively undiscovered' beautiful part of Alaska. It is located near numerous and varied recreational opportunities.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will get an opportunity to experience a quiet, rustic camp like setting with some modern conveniences. America's largest national park (Wrangell St. Elias N.P.) is just out my backyard and the vistor's center is located about 3 miles away. I have lived in the area for over twenty years and have an intimate knowledge of the local area and peoples. I will commit to being a valuable tour guide, if I'm not able to accompany you, I will surely point you in the right direction and tell you the best and safest way to get anywhere.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for help clearing forested property. The 7 acre, picturesque property sits upon a 270 foot bluff overlooking the Wrangell St. Elias National Park. Help will focus on mitigating fire danger and may include cutting down trees, limbing existing trees, raking up ground fuels and hauling (via 4 wheeler and trailer) wood and debris to a fire pit. Maintaining and overseeing fuel consumption in the fire pit. Stacking wood into piles will also be requested.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleeping accommodations will be in the form of a motor home located on the property. Toilet facilities will be an outdoor privy (outhouse). Wash up facilities will be provided in my cabin. Showers will be available either outdoors, in the motor home or from a local lodge. It is my intention to provide for all meals, either directly or through monetary compensation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local area has vast opportunities for recreational enjoyment although it is remote and distances will require vehicular transport. I will be as accommodating as I can with transportation assistance. There is bus service to Anchorage, Valdez and Fairbanks. There is also a shuttle service serving the local area. Fishing ,hiking and rafting spots are plentiful. I live without commercial power (i.e. Off the grid) with a small battery system powered by solar.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 582256361172