help out our busy family in a beautiful spot overlooking Loch Etive, Scotland


United Kingdom

Favourited 976 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are a busy family living on a small croft (land), on the west coast of Scotland, we have 3 sheep, a donkey, hens, a dog, cat and pigs (in the summer months) we love being outside and enjoy meeting new people.

    Our house is situated in a beautiful spot overlooking Loch Etive up through Glen Etive, the views are stunning and it has a feeling of isolation yet is close to all transport links.

    Our children are very active, all three play rugby, the boys also play football and our daughter loves horse riding, ballet and gymnastics.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will be able to learn how to care for farm animals, grow and harvest vegetables and salads, maintain Croft land, Utalise organisational and time management skills, whilst also using their own initiative and problem solving skills when working alone.

    Whilst staying with us workawayers will get to see how a small croft (farm) is run and Workawayers will also get ample opportunity to discover the regional history and explore the local area.

  • Help


    We are a very busy family with three lively children aged 10, 9 and 7. We live in a newly built, warm house on a small croft (land) in the highlands of Scotland.

    We need help with the garden and croft (land) which will involve animal care, help in our new polytunnel, garden maintenance, as well as help around the house (cleaning / tidying) and some childcare. Our children have big personalities and can be quite strong willed therefore previous experience with children and enjoying being round kids is a must, the more you interact with them the more you will get back from them. If you don't like lively children please do not apply to stay with us, although child care is only a small part of what we ask workawayers to help us with, you will be expected to interact with our children if you are living with us!

    Please bear in mind that we are located in the Scottish Highlands and are surrounded by beautiful countryside but it will rain and may be chilly!

    Ideally we would want workawayers aged 25 years and older, you must also be able to work with initiative and although we give details of the work we need doing, you will be working alone at times. We like our workawayers to get out and about and explore the beautiful area that we live in and would prefer people who don’t want to sit around the house all day.

    Please apply to stay with us if:

    1. You love kids
    2. You love animals
    3. You love the countryside
    4. You can work on your own initiative
    5. You dont mind getting your hands dirty and hard work
    6. You are willing to live as part of a family and share day to day chores

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Cosy caravan on the croft which is just 50 metres from the house with meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Taynuilt, 12 miles from Oban which is better known as the gateway to the isles. There are walks, bike rides and mountains on our doorstep and easy access to some beautiful Scottish islands. We are located on a great transport link including regular buses and trains to Glasgow/Oban. All this and much much more! We are non smokers and there is no smoking allowed in the house or caravan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 581856388162