Help with gardening and computers and enjoy one of the most historic cities in the world, Granada, Spain

  • Favourited 1067 times
  • Last activity: 27 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are an easygoing professional couple (Irish and Spanish) living just 5k outside the city of Granada, in the south of Spain. We can offer short-term accommodation for one or two people in return for help with internet stuff. We run several websites, and we are currently trying to get a digital TV channel off the ground, so we are interested in receiving Workaway requests from workawayers with skills/experience in Wordpress, video making/editing, SEO, social networking, etc. We are also interested in hearing from workawayers with experience in (or seeking experience in) interviewing and presenting.

    There is a regular bus service - a bus every half hour - to Granada city centre. To cycle takes 20 minutes. We are less than an hour's drive from the Costa Tropical, and less than an hour's drive from the Sierra Nevada Ski Resort (there are regular buses to both locations). The accommodation is a basic, Spanish-style self-contained apartment with living/sleeping area and kitchen, bathroom/shower, use of outdoor (but covered) patio area and swimming pool. It has a 90 cm bed and a spare, inflatable one. We have two cats, so if you have a cat allergy this is not the place for you.

    Nieves is 99% Granadina with a touch of Galician. She is a "night owl" and likes to go to gigs, clubbing etc. She is fluent in English, Galician and Spanish, and is currently learning French and Russian (she is a former professional translator). Her interests are live music, hiking, cinema, literature, architecture.
    Zak is a best-selling HarperCollins author of books dealing with psychology, parapsychology and extrasensory perception (he is a psychic and psychological profiler). His interests include psychology, politics, composing and playing music, painting and holistic therapies. He is also involved in anti war and human rights activism.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in Granada, one of the most historic cities in the world, location of the Alhambra, and epicentre of Flamenco music and dance. Granada is a university city, with a large foreign student population. They come to Granada to study European history, to learn to speak Spanish and explore Spanish culture. There's also a vibrant pub and night club scene here.

  • Help

    Help

    Assistance with internet issues, primarily Wordpress. Knowledge/experience with video editing, SEO, filming, video editing etc., also welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest area is a self-contained, ground-level apartment (kitchen, living room, bathroom and shower) at rear of main house, with patio area and swimming pool in the summer. Wifi. We do not provide meals since we often eat at strange times or out but if we all are around to eat dinner at the same time we will more than happy to cook for you. Zak is a great chef :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Granada is a lively city, with plenty of things to see and do. It has an active pub, club and concert scene.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We are flexible if the tasks gets done. Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. For IT help it will be in the afternoon/evening/night

Host ref number: 579932913245

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Looking for a housesitter in Gerona, a city not far from Barcelona (1 hour), Spain
Join our Catalan family and help our two girls learn English near Barcelona, Spain