Needed help with animals and house by the sea in Ionian, NW Greece.

Country

Greece

updated  

Favourited 2297 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    880

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    WE NEED HELP !!!
    To all workawayers that have helped us out: YOU WERE GREAT!!! To all workawayers that mail me, it breaks my heart I am not able to answer you all.. and I am not a great organizer, so please dont feel bad when I don't reply...I am a dutch woman living in Greece for 14 years. I have a wooden farmhouse overlooking the sea, and 4000m2 wild nature, with some olive trees, fruits, veggies, chicken, cats, 4 dogs and water from a natural well. I am an artist, host painting holidays in summer, teach cello in winter. The next beach is 2 minutes away, the little village 25 minutes walk. Nature and wildlife is all around us, but the village offers some bars and restaurants. out of the season there is little tourism and we are part of the real greek life and can share that with our workawayers. I had a leg muscle injury and a stroke so heavy work I can not do and that is why I need workawayers. An occasional sweep of the house and feeding the chicken in the morning, caring for the goats and dogs. A bit of gardening or reconstructing something, those are the things you may expect to be on the tasklist.our [lace is not a holiday resort but you can expect to have enough freedom to have resting time and enjoy the surroundings, we don't like to count working hours but we prefer a natural workflow, and we like you to connect to us like at dinner time or share some resting time, we like the family feeling but if you are absent every freeminute we dont feel comfortable like you prefer others company rather than be with us,
    Since springtime last year I am together with a Greek man and I am away from home some days in the week. This means I leave the workawayer help with trust and responsability to keep the animals safe and happy (daily cuddling is on the tasklist) and I can not cook every day. So I can offer a great spot, a nice cabin to stay, loving animals and a lot of freedom.
    I can provide food and company mainly in the weekends but I leave provisions.
    You will stay in a basic but supercute wooden cabin with kitchen and bathroom, porch and garden. Internet is available in the village.
    I am very sorry, but we are not familiair with making vegan food. vegetarian is okay!
    I would really like it if you have no issues with any addiction with alcohol and drugs because I like to have a stress free environment as much as possible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    how to make cheese, super icecream, peanut sauce, handle animals, keep a farmlike house going, greek life, fun, greek language (basic)talks about culture andlife in general a basic level of education or intelligenceis highly appreciated, or an open mind.at least..

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for an easy going, independant person or couple, to help finish many unfinished projects, as well as keeping the garden in shape or help shape it. Also a bit of artistic landscaping, like making a mosaic fountain or shadow place in the olive yard. We need to maintain some trenches to make the water flow in the right direction (not in the house)... I am making stinky but oh- so delicious goat cheese when I find milk, we need building little walls with stones, put stuff on the roof to stop the leaking, make concrete structures like flowerpots, tiled floor, finish the bathroom and a bit of cleaning here and there. would be nice if the workawayer likes cooking because I like to cook and like people who like to cook, or make stuff like cheese and pickles and pick wild herbs. (want to make sauerkrautttt!!!) Handling my goats will be part of the work . Putting the goats back behind the fence is a returning job .
    I like to keep my privacy and will respect yours as well, but also expect to share many cosy hours and good fun, all in balance. No heavy talking before morning coffee ;-)

    I can only host people without an addiction issue. (means I dont mind normal smokers and drinkers)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    dutch, english, german, little greek, little french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cute little cabin for you to stay with its own garden, porch, shower, open kitchen and bathroom, stunning view. Suitable for two persons.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The terrain is rough, you need good shoes!
    We are not pure "eco", because we eat meat and don't recycle (that is not available here in greece). But we like to grow heirloom vegetables and we love nature. I like to learn from you as well, maybe you have ideas that we can implement. I am also a classical musician, make jewelry with stones and stained glass.
    Although most workawayers were brilliant, sometimes we get visitors that are focussed on free food and cheap stay. If this is your mindset, please dont apply. The best magic that can happen, is if you fall in love with the place, the freedom and the challenges. Nature is strong, sometimes the animals need immediate care (escaping goats that eat the garden),
    and the hot water may stop suddenly or the rain washes away the road. We have limited means (not so much money to spend sometimes) and this asks for creativity to work with excisting materials, things we find in the nature (bamboo) and to take loving care of tools (dont crack rocks with the wood axe). You will be rewarded with amazing views, meditation spots, wild flowers and herbs, a walking distance beach and swimming place in crystal clear blue waters and a cute village close by (3km). I like to spoil you with yummee cooking, sometimes not so healty but oh so delicious. We are free to trust you with all that is dear to us, and ask some respect and love from you to keep all healthy and happy.
    We feel good when our workawayers feel good and like you to be honest and free to speak your mind.
    Many leave as lifetime friends or family. We are so grateful for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week































Host ref number: 579455158944