Need help to setup a lakefront bach in Taupo, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am in my late 40's, and are looking for some help at my lakeside bach (small 2 bedroom holiday house) in Taupo, New Zealand. I have worked in management/admin for IT, and tourism, and have raised 3 (now adult) daughters. I am currently studying building science and architecture in Wellington, and enjoy travel, walking/tramping, and spending time with friends and family in my leisure time. I have an 11 year old miniature Schnauzer who is likely to be with me atthe bach.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Taupo is an established and popular tourist destination offering outdoor, adventure, and other natural attractions, together with arts and culture, and food & wine opportunitues. Highlights include:
    * Lake Taupo - the largest freshwater lake in Australasia
    * Huka Falls - the most visited natural attraction in New Zealand
    * Geothermal - landscapes, and natural hot springs
    * Tongariro National Park (approx 1 hour south) - includes the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, which is regarded as New Zealands best 1 day hike
    * Waikato & Tongariro Rivers
    * Rotorua (approx 50 minutes north) - centre for Maori culture
    * The giant Mine Bay Maori rock carving of Ngatoroirangi, hailed as one of New Zealand's most extraordinary contemporary Maori artworks are within a few minutes walk from the bach, plus a short swim or kayak (kayak and lifejackets provided)

  • Help

    Help

    The bach has been built gradually over the past 4 - 5 years, and is now at a stage where it is comfortable and fully functioning, although there are still plenty of tasks to complete, particularly around the site. I am looking for help preparing and staining the timber cladding, site clearing and tidying - including removal of green waste, preparation for landscaping, and general property maintenance.
    Some of the workaway hours can be allocated to food preparation if that is something that my guests enjoy. I anticipate hours of 5 hours of help per day, and suggest that mornings will work best with leisure/rest time in the afternoons, although are happy to be flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer either a double bedroom for a couple, or twin single beds in a shared room for 2 people. The bedroom has a deck with bush/lake views. The beds and linen are good quality. The bathroom is shared. There is wifi, TV, and board games, puzzles etc provided. The bach is located approximtely 10 minutes driving time from Taupo township. It would be an advantage but not essential to have your own car. The subdivision within which the bach is located is designated a private conservation estate, providing a very peaceful and quiet native bush setting with lovely lake views. The house has an elevated position above the lake, and enjoys great sunsets. There are several options for lake swimming within a 5-10 minute walk from the house, and there is also access to tennis courts, petanque, a golf putting green, and boat launching with the subdivision. There are lots of options for short and longer bushwalks directly from the house, as well as in the wider vicinity.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have been holidaying here for nearly 30 years, and are very happy to share my local knowledge and make recommendations for things to see and do in the area. While the accommodation is relatively small and quite basic, the location is really very special and unique. It will suit anyone wanting to mix some work with some quiet time in a peaceful & very tranquil setting.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 579134796964