Renovating an old cottage on our property 15 minutes from Whangarei / Kamo, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    140

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a rural area, 15 minutes from Whangarei / Kamo. We are renovating an old cottage on our property to make into a bed and breakfast with a studio to host visiting artists. We can use any skills and what you don't know we will show you!

    Work is flexible to suit yours and our needs. About 4 hours a day, but you can combine 2 days (8 hours) then have a day off traveling (or more). We can guide you and point you in the right direction, what to see in our beautiful area.

    Having your own transport is important as we live rural (but not essential). Email me if you'd like suggestions about buying and selling vehicles as I have brought and sold cars here in NZ, and helped woofers get moving. I travel to work daily but Hana works from home mainly in the b & b which is almost finished. We prefer stays of about 2 weeks minimum, but our last woofer stayed for a month, we will discuss everything to make it easy for you.
    We are a non-smoking family and have 3 very friendly dogs, so you must be ok with dogs. This is a non-smoking property.

    Meals are often on the deck in summer, where we eat together looking out across sweeping views in a warm, relaxed family-friendly atmosphere (unless it's pouring with rain like today!). Accommodation is in the nearly finished bed & breakfast cottage, or a room with en-suite in the main house depending on what's happening. Plenty of free wifi. Great sense of humor + love of music and musical instruments an advantage! We have a range of musical instruments in good condition, some over 100 years old, and have had some wonderful musicians come and stay.

    The Bay of Islands and Paihia are only an hour and a quarter from us so it is a lovely base for exploring the north of NZ, Auckland is just 2 1/2 hours away.
    The nearest suburb (Kamo) is just 7 minutes drive away for restaurants, doctors, etc, and the CBD of Whangarei 15-20 mins.

    Thanks for reading our profile and we look forward to hosting you,
    Richard and Hana.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a warm, caring kiwi family and will show you how we live, our culture, our values, and help you on your journey in any way we can. We love to hear about different backgrounds and to share our stories. Sense of humor and advantage!! Plenty of musical instruments here! But dont feel pressured - only Hana plays well, I just bang away at on the soundbox I made!

  • Help

    Help

    We are renovating an old cottage on our property to make into a bed and breakfast with a studio to host visiting artists. We need all kinds of help. Right now Hana is landscaping and gardening. We will lend you work clothes and boots etc if necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Hebrew

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have free wi-fi and usually a double room with en-suite or the now nearly completed b&b cottage, depending if we have other guests. The cottage we are renovating is ready, at least to sleep and shower in and is beautiful, quiet, secluded and rebuilt by Hana using recycled native timbers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot to see in our area if you like the country - plenty of beaches. One workaway visitor was so taken aback by one of the beaches that he visited the same 3 times during his 2 week stay (couldn't get enough of that one beach - Matapouri - google it) However its slightly different during the winter. Visitors use our home as a base for touring the area. There is no public transport out here but we make frequent trips to town if you need to be collected/dropped off.
    We are non-smokers. Let us know of any dietary requirements, though its never been an issue)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 576989162864

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more