Help our family in an historic house in rural Co. Meath, Ireland

  • Favourited 463 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with three young children (boy 6y, girl 8 and a boy of 10). My husband is a location manager and stuntman while I am a journalist and run a children's clothing business. We have recently moved to a beautiful rural location about 50 minutes from Dublin. You will have two consecutive days off and will have plenty of time to explore the country. We are looking for someone to help out around the house and garden, with the animals and children.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are all native English speakers. This would be a unique opportunity to experience this historic part of Ireland. We are very near some wonderful ancient monuments and historic ruins as well as the lakes of the midlands. Dublin is only a bus ride away and from there you would also be within reach of the Wicklow mountains, beaches and cliffs around the coast.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help both with my children and around the house and garden. All the kids are now at school from around 8am-3.30pm. We would love some help getting them ready in the morning and then doing chores around the house and garden such as feeding and walking the animals, clearing bits of woodland, digging in the vegetable patches and helping to plant etc etc. Then you would have several hours of downtime to explore the neighbourhood, the grounds, walled garden and extensive lawns. There are many walks in the beautiful fields around the house, visiting the cows and ponies. In the evening when they are back from school it would be great to have some help while they are doing homework and preparing for dinner and to watch the others while the eldest is picked up. A knowledge of horses would be a plus and if you can ride we have rolling fields you can ride through.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own one bedroom apartment in the yard of this Georgian historic property. This workaway position would suit a couple as the accomodation is separate to the house. We would have dinner altogether twice a week but you would have to do some of your own cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus stop in our local village with a couple of daily busses to Dublin but also more frequent busses run between our closest towns which also have constant transport to the capital. We are about a 20 minute walk from shops, cafes and pubs. This is a rural but very beautiful location.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You have your own one bedroom flat with internet and a desk.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 576467298512

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Help needed with our animals and home in Munster, Ireland
Help on our family smallholding in Ulster, Ireland