Help us to renovate our old homestead in the village of Gabrovka, Slovenia

Country

Slovenia

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Anže and Nika. Anže is part time professional Artist/Painter/Musician and part time farmer/ expert on edible wild plants. Nika Pengal is a beekeaper and professional apitherapist. We are openminded and friendly. We live on a property with 5ha, with very old houses, meadows, forest, spring,... Our idea is to renovate this old homestead, to make it into a butique health resort for apitherapy and to make place for artists, art colonies and to host art exhebitions. The farm is located in a quiet village called Gabrovka, which is approx. 50 kilometers from Ljubljana, the capital city of Slovenia. We have some friendly animals – bees, sheep, cat and two dogs. Accommodation is in the house itself and it is shared. If someone would prefer he/she can sleep in the tent, hay barn.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitor will learn about apitherapy, slovenian beekeeping, try our cusine and learn to cook some meals, we will visit some special places (castles, caves, rivers, cities...) and people in the area. You can make some artworks with Anže and in the evening we love barbeque and sitting at the fireplace.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with house renovating, including wood works, concrete works, building and sometimes feeding sheep and cats or help in the garden (weeding, watering).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Visitor has his own place to stay in the old house - room with 3 beds (all blankets and bedings are here). Bathroom and toilet is in attached house and we share it.
    We have an outside terrace and outside kitchen with barbeque where we usually spend time for rest and meals. Nika is vegetarian and pescetarian, Anže is regular eater. In a bad weather we spend time inside. We also have a little swimming pool to refresh after helping hours.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a very quiet, open vally in the very nature, where we share place with deer, foxes, squierls, special birds and our domestic animals. We are huge naturelovers and not very loud-we respect wild animals's life in surrounded forests. Usually we don't start our day before 8 in the morning, first we walk our doggies and after that we eat breakfast. In the village (10 minutes walk) is a caffee and small grocery, where you get almost everythig you need - our previous guests used to go for a coffee in the village and aroung 9PM we started with work. After couple of hours we make a break and eat something and then continue to work until lunch. Connections here are pretty bad, so we can take you to the train station if you want to go to the capital or somewhere else. Very close is open museum with hay racks (slovenian peculiarity) and Mirna castle-very nice place to see. We can visit a special person, who makes his own beer - very good craft beer and whiskey. We can borrow you bike and you can visit turist farm with swimming pool and beachvalley...Also, we we eat and drink local food and wine.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 575911869839