Vegan unschooling family is searching for help with kids and household - suburban area (rural, near city), South Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    278

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Jenny (35), Chris (35) and our two sons Jona (6) and Jaro (4).
    We live in a small village in our own house with garden. Around us you find nature, fields, forest, a little stream and a lot of hiking trails.
    But also the train (S-Bahn) is is only 5 minutes walk away. The next bigger city (300.000 inhabitants) is around 20 minutes away. The next big supermarket is only 3 minutes to walk.

    We are an alternative family and live off the mainstream.
    That includes the following:

    VEGAN.
    We are a vegan family and only eat plant based products - mainly fresh, organic and healthy. We don’t use any refined sugar in our household (but alternatives like xylitol). We eat mostly gluten free, but we are not strict in that.
    I’m a big fan of healthy nutrition and I love to fermentate products, I make sprouts and our own gluten free bread.
    When you live with our family we ask you to only eat vegan.

    ATTACHMENT PARENTING.
    It's important for us that the needs of all the family members are respected (also the needs of the children!). The kids also have a voice - and we don’t use any punishment or rewards. We try to talk and behave on eye level with each other.
    Furthermore we practice(d) long breastfeeding and co-sleeping.

    SELF DIRECTED LEARNING / UNSCHOOLING.
    We are convinced that children learn always and everywhere and that we don’t need to force them to learn something. We just need to give them the right environment.
    Children can not NOT learn, it happens all the time - even or especially when they “just” play.

    SUSTAINABLE LIVING.
    For us (especially me, Jenny) sustainable living becomes more and more important. We reduced our plastic consumptions (and still try to do more - we are still on our way).
    And a lot of things we make ourselves like deo, toothpaste, shampoo,...

    SPIRITUALITY.
    For me, Jenny, is spirituality one of the most important things.
    Since I “discovered” spirituality life feels much easier and makes much more sense to me.
    I love to meditate every morning and always try to grow and discover myself.
    Furthermore I’m a big yoga fan, but still have to practice a lot.


    WHAT WE LOVE TO DO..
    We love nature and so we love to be outside a lot.
    We are going to forests, our stream, lakes, we love to discover our surroundings, we hike, we go by bicycle, roller blading and we love beeing in our garden. We love to pick berries, collect wild herbs and observe every (little) animal.
    We love to make little trips to different forests, special nature places, water falls and more.
    In summer we love to go swimming and in winter we love to be in the snow.
    In winter we also go often to museums, ice scating or bouldering.
    As we don't have any animals (yet), we try to have contact to animals as much as possible. We visit friends with animals or go to wild parks.
    Furthermore we like to travel - both, short trips for just some days, but also longer trips more than a month.

    We love beeing around other people, talking, discussing, inspiring and learning from each other. Our plan for the future is to live in a community with other people who have the same values as we have.


    WHO ARE WE LOOKING FOR?

    We are looking for someone who can mainly take care and play with the kids. But we also need help with households tasks like cooking or the laundry.
    We have our own vegetable garden, where you are welcome to help too if you are interested.

    We are happy if you could help us from morning till lunch.
    After lunch you have your own free time.
    The time you stay with us, we treat you as a normal family member and you are invited to always come with us - but of course only if you want.
    We are a very open and flexible family, so we can talk about everything.
    During the week, Chris is very often not here, so it would only be me, our workaway and the kids.

    It’s not necessary that you speak german. Our kids understand everything in english and can also talk a bit. And I’m happy if they hear some english-talking, so that they don’t forget.
    If you want to improve your german, we can also help you with that!



    WHERE DO YOU SLEEP?

    In our house you would get your own big room with a bed (140x200), a closet and a sideboard to put stuff in it. The room is situated in our fully developed basement. So you are a bit for yourself. You can use our guest bathroom.


    Our kids always need a bit to get familiar with someone, so we would appreciate if you could stay at least 3 month with us.

    If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask.



    -----
    ps: If there are any families with a similar lifestyle, we are happy if you want to write us. Visit us for some days and maybe we sympathise and want to live in a community together?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What you get:
    - alternative family life style
    - unschooling lifestyle (I can explain and tell you more about it)
    - fresh organic vegan food
    - nice calm village with a beautiful landscape around - a lot of nature, woods, vineyards, trails and bike path
    - smaller cities around (10 Minutes) and bigger citys (Karlsruhe and Pforzheim) 20 minutes away
    - we can help you learning the german language
    - I love meditation, yoga and spiritual topics (we can do that together and discuss about it)
    - I love to sew and if you are interested I can show you how to do or we sew something together
    - my husband has good computer skills
    - we (my husband and I) both studied business management (if you need help with that)

  • Help

    Help

    - Help with our two sons (4 and 6)
    - Household
    - Cooking (only vegan)

    We would appreciate if you could help us from morning till lunch.
    In the morning you go out with the kids while I do my stuff/work. Later on you help us with cleaning the kitchen, the laundry, play again with the kids or you cook for the family. We also plant fruits and vegetables in our garden where you also can help.
    We always arrange new our tasks. For me its very important that everyone is satisfied with the things he or she does. So we can talk about everything.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our house you get your own room (approx. 30 qm) and you can use our guest bathroom.
    You will have a bed (140x200) and your own closet as well as free wi-fi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - Tube/train is only 5 minutes walk from our house, next big city 20 minutes away, smaller city 10 minutes

    Sightseeing / "Things to do" nearby:
    - a lot of nature and woods to hike or cycle
    - nice theatres and museums
    - nice lakes where you can swim in summer
    - big shopping mall Karlsruhe
    - lots of bars and restaurants - nice city flair
    - cable railway
    - ZKM - Zentrum für Kunst und Medien (Centrum for arts and media)(one of the best museums in the world)
    - drawing studio according to André Stern
    - botanical garden Karlsruhe
    - wildlife park in Bretten and Pforzheim
    - castle Karlsruhe and a very nice big park next to it
    - barefoot path
    - France is not far away

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 575121116946