Help on our small permaculture, family homestead in Portland, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 130 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Julie and my husband's name is Patrick. We have three daughters ages 4, 8, 15, and 3 sons ages 10, 13 and 17. The other residents include 2 goats, 2 dogs, 2 cats and multiplying chicken flock family living in the Portland Oregon area just north of the Colombia River in Vancouver, WA. We are 20-30 minutes from Downtown Portland. We are life learners / wild schoolers / TJed homeschoolers and engage with our local community as much as we can. My husband works full time and then some nearby.

    We live on a beautiful 5 acre property including a picturesque river with a swimming hole that we love to share with others. We especially love hosting Workawayers and gleaning from your experiences and interests! We learn so much from meeting people from all walks of life and benefit so much from the cultural exchange!
    We are especially excited about all the benefits that come from learning all about you, and your home. It's like traveling without going anywhere!
    We also welcome opportunities to learn about the Pacific Northwest together when possible and are located in a great location with many wonderful places to explore nearby.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By staying with us you will be able to engage in a more in depth cultural experience of the Pacific Northwest. We are working hard to create our homestead using a sustainable design practices as we manage our stewardship while creating experiences for learners of all ages.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to have your help with our homestead, especially growing food, maintaining our home, landscaping and building. Some current projects include building a bunk house in our forest, butchering chickens, building an outdoor shower working on our outdoor kitchen, working on building a cob oven, adding steps down our hill, installing swales on contour, setting up animal paddocks, doing repairs on our older cottage and expanding the garden area. There are also some cleaning tasks, random tasks that relate to having a big family, cooking, wildcrafting, gardening, farm work and sharing what you love with our children.

    When you introduce yourself, I would love to know what kind of work you prefer and what you want to learn more about. We are flexible and will love designing your experience so that it compliments your particular interests while also helping our household's various goals most of the time.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer your own small 1978 camper trailer. There is also an option for tent for camping using our tents, compost toilet, outdoor shower and outdoor kitchen in our beautiful, serene the forest just a short walk from the river that is best enjoyed from Late Spring to Early Fall! There is a communal fire pit also.

    We are willing to host those who have concerns about Covid and are willing to offer outdoor work and experiences, although the cultural exchange is more difficult. We as a family rely heavily on natural immunity and are not concerned about socializing and close interaction, especially with those staying on our property. If you choose the shot, please take it several weeks before coming.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our location is ideal for travelers who want easy access to everything Portland offers. This is a perfect opportunity for friends traveling together, couples, and families. Borrow one of the bikes while staying just outside of town along a beautiful country road just minutes from town/ shopping. Take a day trip to Portland by bus or car. Unless you are looking to use Uber or Lyft while in town we recommend renting a vehicle in order to take advantage of your stay out here. I can also drive you to the bus stop on occasion and take you on errands when we go.


    We are close to nature areas, trails and tourist locations.
    Our daily life includes the children and attempting to keep things in order and feed people. We eat primarily organic, whole, local food in season that is fairly simple. We love eating food and herbs grown in our garden and eggs from our hens when they are not molting or too hot or cold. Our garden is a learning garden so it only supplements our diet, but some things are plentiful at times! Patrick is vegetarian asside from eggs and fish and the rest of us are omnivores who eat locally, raised humanely raised meat sparingly.

    I am often heading out for homeschool related activities, schooling, working around the property in the or spending time at the creek in the afternoon during the summer. Patrick has a very heavy work load but tries to join us in the evening and on the weekend when possible. When at home we are playing, learning, cleaning, and cooking for the most part. We have a nice group of friends we get together with regularly, and often go camping when the weather is right and would love to have you join us if you are interested.

    We expect our guests to not smoke and drink anywhere near the house or take drugs. We personally abstain from alcohol and cigarettes but if it remains at your campsite and you doing responsibly, it is your choice. We are striving to create a wholesome environment for our kids. We live a busy, often crazy and fun life. Still, having 6 dynamic and primarily extroverted children can be dramatic and wild at times! Come join the fun!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is not wi-fi in our trailer but it is available in our sitting area next to the house upon request.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Almost any size can park here depending on availability! There will be less work hours if you provide your own lodging or camp.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Let's talk to see if your pets can be accommodated here! I am open to the possibility.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 574814323228