Join our family in our home and help with farm or household work on beautiful Whidbey Island, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three, living a dream on beautiful Whidbey Island in northwestern Washington State in a log cabin on a small property. We are next to Deception Pass State Park, a popular tourist destination about an hour and a half from Seattle. We have a small family/hobby farm that focuses on preserving and promoting a few critically endangered heritage breeds of farm animals. We need help mostly with our ponies, but also with other animal care, general maintenance on the property, gardening, helping to make sure our adventurous young son stays safe, and riding/driving our lovely Dales Ponies. Mom does most of the pony training and showing, and dad does most of the philosophizing! Our visitors are considered part of our family. We enjoy sharing our home and experiences, and learning from others. We do not have a TV.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can get to know some of the rarest heritage breed farm animals. We try to live a healthy life and enjoy sharing our experiences and observations with others. There is a lot of life on our little farm, and we all learn from spending time with the plants and animals, too!

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with animal care, farm maintenance, and gardening. Our critically endangered Dales Ponies are large enough to carry adults, and have delightful temperaments. They are suitable for almost any rider, but the more experienced, the better.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Norwegian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room, shared bathroom, in a log home. The ceilings slope down quite low so taller people may be less comfortable than shorter people! We provide shared meals to our guests. We live about 20 minutes away (by car) from the smallish towns of Oak Harbor and Anacortes, and there are no amenities nearby.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a stick shift (standard transmission) car that can usually be borrowed for excursions. The bus on Whidbey Island is free, but bus stations are not close, and buses are infrequent. The San Juan Islands, North Cascades National Park, and Olympic National Park are all within a couple of hours' drive, and well worth seeing. Vancouver, BC is also 2 hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 573827788661