Learn new skills helping with permaculture gardening in Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 238 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    57  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    We are looking for a couple or two friends who would like to come at the end of September for some gardening. We would also welcome anybody with website and social media skills.

    The house is now finished so we are looking for people who would like restore an acre of formal garden when has not been touched in 50 years. It is now been cleared and would like have it restored and managed by anybody interested in Permaculture,Gardening or Agriculture.

    This is a beautiful Welsh mansion that we have renovated.It is located in the beautiful county of Pembrokeshire. The house is located 5 minutes from some of the most beautiful coast and beaches in the UK. We are nearly finished.

    There is plenty of water sports and fantastic places to see.We are a friendly bunch and want people to have a rich experience.

    The accomodation is in the main house or if we have guests in a warm clean caravan, you will be well looked after.If in the Caravan we offer you a good food allowance so you can choose your own meals.

    We have tasks for people which include, gardening and restoring the land.

    Also there is a lovely walled formal garden with a shell grotto. It has been touched in 50 years so needs lots of work.

    We respectfully ask you help us for 5 hours a day five days a week.

    Over the summer we have had people of all ages and from all over the world and we generally have about 2 or 3 Workaways on site at any one time. As is the nature of the game, people come and go all the time. Stay as long as you like!

    We are a jolly bunch and aim to give Workaway people a great experience in a beautifully located historic house.

    Regards,

    David.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Pembrokeshire is the only Coastal National Park in the whole of the UK.

    It highlights how truly beautiful it is. Stone from the county was used to build Stonehenge.

    It has beautiful beaches,walks and cycle rides.

    It has a big art scene and lots of historical sites.

    It is a true gem.

    Learn new skills or help teach yours. Many of our volunteers have left us with new skills and we have had a few come through who were able to teach their skills.

  • Help

    Help

    We are still in need of kind, considerate and fun loving people with all sorts of Gardening skills, or a desire to learn.

    If you enjoy cooking and would like to help cater for our merry band (usually 8-10!) you'd be most welcome to play in the kitchen.

    Some help with Social media marketing would be appreciated too!

    We have a lovely old formal garden which needs work. We have basic tasks like painting and general building maintenance.

    Also there is a lovely walled formal garden in need of lots of TLC - including a shell grotto. It hasn't been touched in 50 years so needs lots of attention.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French and a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Please be aware that the house is a work in progress.You'll have your own room, which may be a little basic but is comfortable and warm. We're nearing the end of the renovations now, so the bedrooms improve all the time - they even have doors on them now! However they are warm and the beds comfy. There is a shared bathroom and a common room with cooking facilities and TV/DVD. Most meals catered for, with provision for DIY when not! Always food around :)

    Update, Room in house or Caravan in garden if we have guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of beaches and water sports. A car would be beneficial to explore further afield although there is a local bus service. There are a few bikes on site to borrow. The coast is just a 20min walk away, as is the local friendly pub. Great cafe in the village too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week in exchange for room and meals.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








































Host ref number: 571767727768