We need someone to help with daily chores in a small guesthouse and our farm in North Iceland.

Country

Iceland

Favourited 536 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    888

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a farming family in north Iceland.
    We have sheep, horses, hens and two dogs.
    Plus we run a small guesthouse that is situated on our land as well.
    Mum and dad live on the farm and three siblings have one leg on the farm and the other around the area.
    In the summer the sheep go up to the mountains and in the fall we use horses to gather them back.
    The guesthouse is busy in the summer months but quieter in the winter.

    We are looking for someone to help around with everything that needs to be done.
    Someone with experience with horses would be great.
    Experience in cleaning and tidiness would also be helpful and communication is crucial.
    Manly we need someone to help around the guesthouse, and chores there are many and diverse. We focus on cleanliness and being great hosts to our guests.
    Chores around the farm are fewer during the summer but there is always something specially in the start of the summer and in the fall. So an open minded person willing to help, that can take guidance and both work with us and independently.

    We want to pay our guest for their work with us!

    North east Iceland is a beautiful place and there are many tourist attractions close by. So traveling around and enjoying the scenery will be easy enough. And we would really like someone that would want to take holidays for a couple of weeks in the summer to travel around the country and enjoy what Iceland has to offer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to be good hosts and our guest would feel like a part of the family while he stays with us. We are a normal Icelandic farming family where our motto is 'everything will be fine '

    We are willing to help our guests learn Icelandic if they wish, or anything about Icelandic culture or history and hope they will learn about the farming life in Iceland.

    We are an easy going group, our home is welcoming and we get many guests relatives and friends that visit us every day.

    We would like to work out with our guests for them to do some sightseeing in the area when they are with us, we can take them or they can borrow a car and go by them selves.

    We are also ready to help with any sightseeing trips our guests would like to do while they are in the country if they need some information or help planning.

    We pay our guest for their work, that will make it easier to plan a trip around Iceland since they will get paid in Icelandic kr. easy to spend on adventures here. Since everyone knows Iceland is not the cheapest country you travel.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone easygoing with work experience. Someone who can work in teams with us and also on his own with our guidance.
    English speaking preferably.

    Things we need help with:
    Help around the guesthouse: cleaning rooms, changing beds, doing laundry, mopping and guest service for example.
    Help in the kitchen: cooking, cleaning, serving, preparing and doing dishes.
    Help with outdoor work: shoveling snow, cutting grass, putting up fences, picking up trash or other things that need to be done on the land.
    Help around the farm: Horse riding, brushing the horses, feed hens, pick eggs, sweeping and cleaning stables, gather sheep and feed lambs with bottle.. for example job that need to be done on a farm are diverse and can not always be planned far ahead.
    House chores in the family house, hoovering, mopping, cleaning bathrooms, dusting for example.

    Mostly we would like to host someone who would like to be a part of our family not only help us with our work.
    We are a happy group used to having guests from around the globe.
    Our house is a warm and friendly place where we want everyone to feel welcome.

    Our life is colorful and not every day is the same and nothing is set in stone so the work is very diverse and we try to make it fun.

    Our guest will get paid for their work while they stay with us!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, english, polish. (bare minimum, danish, german.)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have spare rooms in the house, the room is small but comfy with everything you need for a good night sleep.
    In the house there are two bathrooms both with showers.
    We have wifi available in the whole house and a tv in the sitting room.
    There is a washing machine in the family house and two machines and dryers in the Guesthouse.
    We always try to eat together like a family but on busy days it's every man for himself.
    We live by a lake and go fishing there, so often we eat fresh trout, we try to eat clean fresh product as much as possible and do the food preparation ourselves.
    We try to have at least one meal together during the day.
    We like our guest to feel comfortable with us not being scared to ask if they need something. Not being scared to hang out with us when they want but also feeling comfortable being alone if they wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Iceland is a special country unique with its scenic views. Traveling around is easy enough, many hitchhike during the summer plus we have affordable public transportation.

    Our farm is situated in north east Iceland and it is close to many tourist attractions.
    Húsavík the whale capital is 25 minutes by car
    Mývatn known for its beauty is 45 minutes away.
    Dettifoss 2 hours
    Goðafoss 15 minutes.
    Akureyri 1 hour, and so on.

    All these places will come up on a google search of the area. Our farm is situated by Vestmannsvatn if you put that on google maps you can find the location.

    Our guests are welcome to spend their time off at the farm with the family they can also go anywhere and we can help them plan. We would love to work out some schedule if they wanna go on a longer trip they could work some longer days and get more days off in a row. Everything is possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 8 hours a day.



Host ref number: 571513545281