Help us to set up our smallholding in West Cork, Ireland



Favourited 253 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hello! We are John and Valerie, and Sammy and Mojo the dogs. We are in the early stages of setting up our smallholding farm, home and nature spaces.

    We need help from people with woodwork/building skills. Also help needed growing veggies. Preference given to couples or those willing to camp. Apologies for not replying to all emails! *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place is suited to people who are interested in all that's involved in off grid living, growing organic food and green building, we have lots of knowledge to share and love hearing about how other people do things.

  • Help


    We have all kinds of activities going on here depending on what suits you. We are a busy small farm, growing organic veggies for sale at our local market and some going to local shops and restaurants. We are maintaining an acre of blueberries, vegetable beds and two poly-tunnels, improving off-grid power and water, building stone walls/flower beds and working on our post and beam wood cabin.

    We are looking for people who are interested in the lifestyle and willing to pitch in with whatever is going on. You should be independent and willing to help prepare shared meals when needed.
    *️️️*️️️we are especially interested in people who have some green building or carpentry skills, and those interested in organic vegetable production.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, and just a few words of French and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation is a cosy little caravan with running water, 12v power, wood stove. Or in summer we can make you a very cosy nest in a large tent with lots of bedding - mattress, duvet/blankets, pillows etc. Shared hot shower, compost toilet and campfire... facilities are basic but the craic is mighty! ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're not far from the coast here about 8km to beaches and Rosscarbery, we've a small village nearby and we're about halfway between Clonakilty and Skibbereen towns.

    We've lots going on here but are easy-going too! We're surrounded by the beautiful West Cork countryside, with hills to walk and stone circles and beaches to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 567864963978