1 / 5

DIY projects with us at home in Horndal, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 12 times
  • Last activity: 1 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    We live in Sweden in south of Dalarna. 15 miles from Stockholm.
    Our family is me Madeleine and my husband Johan. We have 3 children in the age of 1-6 years old.
    We live on the country side in a small farm.
    A lovely place to live and fantastic surroundings.
    We both have other works and the lack of time with taking care of the farm buildings is sad to see. They need more love and fixing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to grow vegetables. Learn swedish culture and eat great food.
    We live in a non toxic home and only have internet on wire. We have our kids at waldorf pre-school and school. So here you can learn more of anthroposophy if you like.

  • Help


    We have just moved out to the country side. And we have the plans to start up with chickens and to fix a garden for vegetables etc.
    We both work a lot and from april-june we need help on fridays with 2 of our children (5 and 2 years)
    The work has variations. But we like to get help to start with chickens and saw seeds for example. Grass mowing, easier fixes if something is broken.
    Sometimes help out to make dinner or play with the children.

  • Languages spoken

    Swedish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have 1 house where our family lives. And we have a guest house, that is more like off grid situation. No water, or drain. But with electricty and wood burning stoe and tiled stoe. There is a outhouse for doing the needs. But of course you can use our bathroom in the main house for shower, washing clothes. The town has a swimming house where you also can use sauna, showers, swim, gym.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On the weekends you have time to see Many beautiful places. It would be good if you have a drivers- license, though we live at the country side. But you can walk 2 km and come to the town where you find store, bus, train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Cats are okay, not dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 566773464856



Eco gardening in a beautiful old garden and farmhouse in a nature reservation in Söderåsen, Sweden
Help me around the house during the hectic winter season in Kiruna, Sweden