Help with some projects on my old farmhouse near Alcoy, Alicante, Spain

Country

Spain

updated   Last minute

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please contact in Spanish
    I need volunteers in any month to pick grapes, prune the vines, etc.
    I also need help to collect the olives, and for a project to recover a 'water mine', excavate irrigation ditches, alcavones, settling basin, and declare it BIC (Asset of Cultural Interest).
    I have bought an old mansion from 1900, with stone blocks, antique furniture, etc.
    I work in the mornings from Monday to Friday, Volunteers will be alone most of the time.
    It is my home, I do not have any agricultural business, only for my own consumption. Here you can eat apples, pears, persimon, figs and grapes in season.
    I want to restore it as best as possible with vintage furniture, removing modern elements that they put, such as aluminum, furniture, pressed chip, etc. Everything must be rustic, stone, natural wood, iron, etc.
    I also have land with olive and fruit trees for my own consumption, many vines with grapes, I need help to have everything arranged and in condition, I need a person with knowledge of masonry, electricity, carpentry, plumbing, etc. (not essential, the important thing is to be willing to work and help).
    The farm is at the beginning of the Green Route of Alcoy, surrounded by the Barxell river, with a small lake and waterfall, and charming old sites to visit, the lost valley, the abandoned hermitage, etc.
    (Search in Google Ruta Verde Alcoy to see everything).
    You can come in agritourism (This is not an employment website, but to travel and stay for free) in exchange for a few hours of help and be in contact with Nature.
    The rooms are 5, very large, 4x4 meters, decorated from 1900 and with many old utensils.
    At the olive harvest season, we share the benefit of the harvest that the oil mill pays us at 50%, in money or olive oil.
    Here you can learn about agricultural work, time to prune trees and vineyards, drip irrigation, and I also have an ecological project planned: to install a solar garden for photovoltaic energy.
    I could plant a garden with vegetables and legumes, if I can find help.

    In winter it snows many times, although there is no snow in Alcoy (incredibly at 500 meters, but the farm is going down to the river; the temperature is 2 degrees less than that indicated in the city), we use a fireplace on the ground floor and radiators with Propane gas boiler in the rooms.

    Necesito voluntarios en cualquier mes para recoger uva, podar las parras, etc.
    Tambien necesito ayuda para recoger las olivas, y para un proyecto de recuperacion de una 'mina de agua', excavar acequia, alcavones, balsa de decantacion, y declararla BIC (Bien de Interes Cultural).
    He comprado un antiguo palacete de 1900, con sillares de piedra, muebles antiguos, etc.
    Trabajo por las mañanas de lunes a viernes. Los voluntarios estaran solos la mayor parte del tiempo.
    Es mi domicilio, no tengo ningun negocio agricola, solo para consumo propio. Aquí puedes comer en temporada manzanas, peras, persimon, higos y uva.
    Quiero restaurarlo lo mejor posible con muebles de época, quitando elementos modernos que pusieron, como aluminio, muebles viruta prensada, etc. Todo debe ser rustico, piedra, madera natural, hierro, etc.
    Además tengo terreno con olivos y frutales para consumo propio, muchas parras con uva, necesito ayuda para tener todo arreglado y en condiciones, necesito persona con conocimientos de albañileria, electricidad, carpinteria, fontaneria, etc. (no imprescindible, lo importante es tener ganas de trabajar y ayudar).
    La finca está en el principio de la Ruta Verde de Alcoy, rodeada por el rio Barxell, con un pequeño lago y cascada, y sitios antiguos encantadores para visitar, el valle perdido, la ermita abandonada, etc.
    (Busca en Google Ruta Verde Alcoy para ver todo).
    Puedes venir en agroturismo (esto no es una web de empleo, sino de viajar y alojarse gratis) a cambio de unas pocas horas de ayuda y estar en contacto con la Naturaleza,
    Las habitaciones son 5, muy grandes, de 4x4 metros, decoradas de 1900 y con muchos utensilios antiguos.
    En época de recogida de olivas nos repartirnos el beneficio de la cosecha que nos pague la almazara al 50%, en dinero o aceite de oliva.
    Aquí puedes aprender sobre labores agrícolas, época de poda de árboles y viñas, riego por goteo, y también tengo previsto un proyecto ecológico: instalar un huerto solar para energía fotovoltaica.
    Podria sembrar un huerto con hortalizas y legumbres, si encuentro ayuda.
    En invierno nieva muchas veces, aunque no haya nieve en Alcoy (increiblemente a 500 metros, pero la finca está bajando al rio; la temperatura es de 2 grados menos que la indicada en la ciudad), usamos chimenea en la planta baja y radiadores con caldera de gas propano en las habitaciones.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They are going to come to one of the best green areas in Spain, see on Google: Ruta Verde Alcoy. They can learn agricultural work for self-consumption.


    Van a venir a una de las mejores zonas verdes de España, ver en Google: Ruta Verde Alcoy.
    Pueden aprender labores agrícolas para autoconsumo.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in the maintenance and restoration of an old farmhouse and its fields of olive and fruit trees.


    Ayuda en mantenimiento y restauración de masía antigua y sus campos de olivos y frutales.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Ingles leo y escribo, aprendi de leer webs en ingles. He estudiado francés en el Bachiller, me falta costumbre de hablarlo.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large 4x4 meter room fully furnished. Supply of sheets, blankets, towels, etc.


    Habitación grande de 4x4 metros completamente amueblada.
    Suministro de sábanas, mantas, toallas, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    here you can not get bored. Alcoy is a city crossed by rivers, many bridges, many closed old factories, and surrounded by mountains and natural landscapes that will always be like this, since everything is a protected area.
    A volunteer from Argentina has already come, and a couple from Mexico. I already have 2 experiences, although people forget to comment and value the stay.

    aqui no se pueden aburrir. Alcoy es una ciudad atravesada por rios, muchos puentes, muchas fabricas antiguas cerradas, y rodeada de montañas y parajes naturales que siempre estaran asi, pues todo es zona protegida.
    Ya ha venido un voluntario de Argentina, y una pareja desde Mexico. Ya tengo 2 experiencias, aunque la gente se olvida de poner comentarios y valorar la estancia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Tengo Internet alta velocidad con fibra optica de Movistar. Wifi y TV

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Tengo aparcamiento para 2 caravanas

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Me gustan los animales. En mi finca puedes ver ardillas todos los dias en mis 2 pinos gigantes, algun zorro, serpiente, y por la noche pasan los jabalies que bajan a beber al rio Barxell que tengo rodeando mi propiedad. Las mascotas, perros y gatos, duermen fuera de la casa.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Como recomienda la web 3 horas al día sin comida o 5 horas con comida


Host ref number: 565846195579