Musical family looking for an English female native speaker to play with our sons in Santander, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 484 times
  • Last activity: 25 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Available from November.
    if your main goal is to improve your Spanish language skills in extraordinary way, this is your house!. We are cello teachers at conservatory.
    We are open mind and easy going people. We have done home exchange several years before.
    We are a family of four: Gema, Rafa, a child of seven years old, Martin, and Daniel of five years old.

    We love music and travelling.
    We are looking for easy going, talkative and kind person who could stay with us in our house.
    Looking for a person with initiative with kids.
    We will answer your email within few hours.

    If you want to stay with us, you need to consider this:
    You need to be convinced that being in charge of two little boys is more than just being next to them. It is to interact with them ( This is the most important for us ). ONLY APPLY IF YOU GENUINELY LOVE KIDS AND ARE WILLING TO ESTABLISH A CONNECTION WITH THEM.
    Ask yourself if you would be able to play with seven and five year old boys for several hours a day. If you would be able to tell stories, to sing with them, or discuss issues that may not interest you too. Tip: If you deal with children, it is better for you to propose the activities to them. Otherwise, they will propose to you. You should have the initiative.
    We will also ask you to help them with their school homework; maths, start reading...

    Please do not use your phone when you are with them.

    Their behavior is good in general. They are playful, of course. They have a good heart and are very sensitive.
    They will treat you like an older sister or like a very special friend. So they will expect you to pay attention to them, to play with them and to be loving with them.

    To be loving… This is an interesting point. We give many kisses and hugs to our children throughout the day (and throughout life). So we are, and this is difficult to change.
    We do not expect you to be as expressive as the Spaniards, but we do expect you to be tolerant of shows of affection of our sons.
    We expect you to be patient with them and do not feel strange if our sons give you a hugs or they sit too close to you or take your hand when you walk on the street with them.
    Although, so far, our experiences with guests have been very positive (we have had guests from England, Poland, Australia, New Zealand, German, Netherlands, EEUU...), we always like to clarify these points.
    Thus, our future guests will understand that our main interest in this exchange are our sons. And, during the daily working time, this should be also the main interest of our guest.
    Obviously, during your daily leisure time, you can focus on your own interests (Spanish language and culture, meet people, go for a walk, play sports, just have fun, enjoy the pleasure of doing nothing, or… whatever you prefer).

    We eat all kind of food and we cook all the food but If you want or if you need to cook for you special food, it will be perfect!. We have had a veeery good experience with several vegan workawayers. They cooked delicious dishes for all of us.

    We try to eat as healthy as possible. We usually cook with few salt and sugar. We use olive oil.
    We do not drink alcohol normally. Sometimes beer or wine, but usually our drink when we eat is water.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to improve your skills with the Spanish in astounding way, this is your place!.
    We can correct your Spanish in a soft way with patience and love.
    You will be able to improve your spanish with two teachers, sharing daily activities and with interesting conversations.
    We will response all your doubts with the language. You will decide the speed and the rhythm of your improvement.
    If you want we can speak only in Spanish.
    It will be hard yes!, but is the best way to improve fast!!. Come on!.

    You could also explore the area of Cantabria, Bilbao and sourroundings by yourself or travelling with us some weekends but all this depends on you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We live in a big single house with 4 bedrooms, a great living room, a big kitchen and three bathrooms.
    We have a garden with lemon and orange trees.
    You will have your own bedroom and bathroom.
    The acess to the Internet is very very fast.
    Our home is situated close to Santander, 10 minutes by car until the town hall, very closed to the beaches. A bus stop to the city center is close to the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The most important thing: we want a person with initiative to speak, teach and play in English with Martin and Daniel.
    House tasks are secondary things.

    You can live with a family who loves travel so maybe you can travel somewhere with us and visit other places of Cantabria.

    Once you're with us, if during weekends or holidays you want to share our leisure activities (excursions, some trip, meeting with friends or relatives), we are delighted you to join. But, it depends on you.

    We are ecologist althoug we eat not only organical food.
    We try to live a eco friendly life; we do our own compost, we organize eco activities with our students, we don't waste extra lights, we try to save energy, all our energy is from a renowable company and furthermore we have our own solar panels...

    If you know about pages design or about WORDPRESS it would be an enormous plus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high-speed fiber optics for the Internet. If you work by internet you will be welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 565778566897

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help our family with English and learn about Spanish culture in the countryside, Torrelaguna, Spain
Be part of our finca and help with our sustainable project near Malaga, Spain