Looking for help with outdoor tasks on a croft in NW Sutherland, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 137 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    180

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We work a croft in NW Sutherland- not far from Durness and Cape Wrath. We have just finished planting 6000 broadleaf trees and are currently building a house. We have a polytunnel, productive, and keep poultry and an assortment of interesting cats and dogs, There is a lot of upkeep on the ground, to allow the saplings to grow, We have had quite a few people from around the world to stay and they seem to have enjoyed the experience- we certainly enjoyed meeting them and learning about their travels. We try to be eco friendly and tend to do a lot of recycling. We are never short of tasks, one task seems to breed another! The country side around us is wild but famously lovely, no shortage of mountains and spectacular beaches. Also much in the way of wildlife, that makes the poultry keeping quite a challenge.
    For the next year we expect quite a bit of upheaval so the accommodation and catering might not reach the previous standards- but for those looking to experience a more sustainable, independent and natural way of life we can offer basic facilities for the time being in exchange for a helping hand here and there.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are well travelled and have wide interests. We have boats though recently not much time to sail them! Living here they can learn about remote living, the natural environment, climate and landscape.

  • Help

    Help

    Outdoor tasks, tree and fence maintenance, veg/flower growing, animal care.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Gaelic (Scottish): Intermediate
    Russian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan, with power and wifi. Use of cabin and hot tub. Some meals provided, some self catering needed due to ongoing house build.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Good restaurant within walking distance. Excellent carry out curries from neighbouring croft. Village of Kinlochbervie, nearby, has fuel, PO, two general merchants, hotel, two gift shops, medical centre, fire station, schools, churches and large port. Public transport is limited. I can pick up from rail head at Lairg if necessary. Bikes are available here. The screen machine visits monthly with the latest films. I have been involved with local choirs and am currently engaged in an art project with a local museum. We are volunteer drivers for the community bus and I teach on supply for local schools from time to time. We keep busy and are fairly self sufficient. The animals provide much entertainment! We have internet and catch-up TV. There is much of interest to lovers of the great outdoors in the in the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 564982437211