Join our artistic family and help us with home improvement projects in Placerville, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My family lives on a 10 acre property, in Placerville, California. We are in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains.
    We are a 10 minute drive to Main Street, with lots of cute shops and restaurants. We have lots of wineries and farms in the area. And the river is about 20-30 min drive for swimming.
    I have experience as an artist, singer-songwriter, and love somatics, contact improv, energy work. I am happy to share meditation, mindful movement, improv dancing and singing, and music skills if you are interested in any of those areas.
    I don’t cook much, so you will be mostly responsible for your own meals, although I will offer to share when I can. I am also open to cooking together. We are an omnivore household, mostly eat organic and local from our Natural Foods Co-op in town. But we also eat junk food and snacks for fun sometimes.
    I have a 7 year old son who I homeschool. He likes bugs, monsters, video games, running around, pretend battling, swimming, chess, card and board games, puzzles, reading, math, and learning.
    There are a lot of places our home and yard could use help. Depending on your interests and skills, we can find different activities and projects.
    Some ideas: cleaning, putting in laminate flooring or finding an eco-friendly alternative, painting walls in the house, teaching me and my son a new skill or about something you love, gardening, child care, or starting a new outdoor or indoor project.
    We have 2 indoor/outdoor cats.

    I want to video chat with potential visitors before we make a commitment.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m happy to take you to a couple nice river spots, or show you around town, or recommend places for you to visit on your own.
    If you are interest in energy work, meditation, or developing your intuition, I am happy to share my experience and give some inspiration in that area.
    We can sing, play music, dance, watch movies, garden, chat.
    If you like cats and children, there is love to be shared here.
    Please let me know what your hopes are from your experience and I will let you know how I can help!

  • Help

    Help

    I’d love for some friendly upbeat and energetic company. We have been in ‘nesting’ mode for a long time now, and some creative energy would be much appreciated. If you are more reserved, that’s ok, too, we would also be happy for someone who wants to stay quiet and just help tidy up or work in the garden. The house we are in is quite old and has many projects that can be done. If you are handy, we could lay flooring, hang blinds, paint, chop firewood. If you really want to do something bigger, I’m interested in an outdoor kitchen and shower, converting a shed into a greenhouse. There are also a few vacant apartments on the property that could use work, shampooing carpets, cleaning, painting, and even renovating. We could paint a mural in the garden. Or if you are good with kids, I appreciate just any time playing with my son, or teaching him something cool.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Welsh: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private bedroom in the house, with a twin bed, and another twin bed that pulls out if needed.
    A shared bathroom and shared kitchen.
    We don’t have air conditioning, so it may be too warm for some during summer months, but we manage.

    I am open to one person at a time, or will consider 2 if you can share the room with twin beds. A single parent with 1 child, for example.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can pick you up in Sacramento from the train station or the airport.
    There is a bus stop in walking distance, to go to the library, food co-op and downtown. I also can take you places once or twice a week, if needed.
    I'm looking for people who are interested in staying from 1-4 weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our wi-fi is reliable. And you have a private bedroom or are welcome to work in the common space.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours per day, 5 days a week (days and times are flexible)


Host ref number: 564715275955