Help in the highlands! Nairnshire, Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a rural part of the highlands, on a working estate. We have 2 children and Another due in October! We require a mixture of help around the house... from outside garden jobs to childcare and general house work and maintenance. We are located near the stunning river Findhorn which is a very popular place for kayaking, white water rafting, salmon fishing in the summer and pheasant shooting in the winter. We are also very close to the north coast and beautiful beaches such as Lossiemouth and findhorn bay. It is a 45 minute drive to the cairngorm mountains which are ideal for hill walking and snow activities . If you are wanting to experience life on a remote working estate in Scotland then this is your place! We have accommodation of a yurt so you can chose how much time you spend with us , your host family! The mother Ellie works part time as a teacher, youngest child Harris is 3. Older son Luca is 11. Father, Alex shares his time working on the estate and working away, at height on wind turbines. We have a dog and chickens.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can see how a working estate functions and be introduced to sports such as kayaking, fishing and shooting. They will learn English and be very welcomed into our small family. They will get to see some of the most exquisite scenery and wildlife in scotland and we are located close to many castles, mountains and whisky distilleries!

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned above the tasks will be a real mixture of help around the house and outside. The help required really depends on the time of year but skills such as working with wood, animals, practical building skills, gardening, cooking and experience working children would all be very welcomed !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a yurt which is set up so you can chose to cook in it or eat meals with your host family or a mixture of both.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport where we live but you could have access to a car and we reccomend this placement for someone with a driving license however this is not essential. There is access to bikes so you can cycle to do local sight seeing. We really want to share our time with people who are full of enthusiasm and enjoy being in the outdoors, regardless of weather. As well as this they have to enjoy hanging out with children !!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 564362575926